Love is not a feeling; it is a choice and a commitment


Advertisement
Published: January 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Love is not a feeling; it is a choice and a commitment. If I came here just on feeling, that would have faded...I chose to come here because I wanted to be committed to a country I have a passion for. It's funny how a week here did that. Solomente una semana! If I came here on a feeling, I would not have chosen the island, where I will be isolated from the rest of the country and from other people. However, that is where God was leading me, to the island. God often brings us out of our comfort zones to do His work.

After Managua, a good resting place, one that is familiar to me, we all left for San Jorge, to visit Casa Asis, the baby orphanage for NHP. Leaving the familiar path led us to a shabby town, with one main paved road...We took the beaten path along the dirt gravel to this orphanage, right along the beach that offered an amazing view of the island Ometepe and the two beautiful volcanoes that tower it...along the way we see ox driven carts and kids on bicycles, dogs, some dead, and even roosters and cows roaming the streets with us, probably looking for food, for life. It was definitely a new world, one that was unfamiliar to most of us...As we arrive in Casa Asis, the kids are streaming with life and energy. Having worked with kids most of my life, I know how draining that can sometimes be. However, by the end of the week with these kids, I knew I was in love, in love with my work, my mission, with these kids. Although not the kids I will be working with primarily on the island, the kids gave me the energy and spirit I so desperately needed. The first night, I was plagued with some sort of cough, which turned worse and led to a high fever and was out of commission for a few days...although not fun, I was happy being here at the farm...being waked up by the roosters every morning, hearing the cows moo when they were hungry, not having electricity all the time...and being careful of the red and yellow snake, or perhaps the python that everyone warned us about...or not having internet for a week... I loved riding in the back of the truck...and seeing how sturdy you can be as the car goes fast over the bumpy terrain...The farm offered a different kind of life I was not used to, but one I would have to adjust to very quickly on the island. I welcomed the differences to life in Managua.

When I did have time with the kids, I was deeply touched. These kids have nothing, yet still seem to live as if they have the world at their fingertips. I was deeply amazed. Playing with the kids and going on walks with them was the best time I have had in a long time. On one particular walk, we went to the beach that you could see the island...the view of the kids playing in the volcanic sand and seeing the volcanoes was beautiful...and these kids see it every day! I see trees almost all the time, and these kids see volcanoes...how lucky they are...

Lester became my child for the week there...although all the children were wonderful and beautiful, Lester was mine, at least for the week...I will never forget him...or any of the kids...Oh, how I miss them so much!
I became better and so was able to play some with the kids...who like other kids, laugh and cry and just have fun being there, existing...

After a tearful goodbye, we all leave for Leon, the hip hoppin city of young people! In fact, I feel I am in Europe! I am feeling better and am excited for the upcoming adventures.

I feel like Nicaragua is both life and death. Life in the children that I saw at the orphanage in Casa Asis...life in the volcanoes towering over the sky, high above the clouds...life in the people...but, there is also death. Death in the tires that popped from the hot climate and rocky terrain, death in the man who tried to cross the street, only to be hit by a car and have people gawking at him...death in the dogs who are left abandoned because they cannot be cared for...Nicaragua is both life and death.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



11th January 2008

Luz en la Oscuridad
Great photos, Michellita. Seeing the smiles on the children's faces, it seems your choice and commitment are bringing them a lot of happiness and hope. We look forward to reading about your next adventures. You're in our prayers!
15th January 2008

heyyyyyyy
hey chica! q tal? wow, sounds like God's been showing and teaching you a lot in your short time already in Nic. what are some ways or requests that i can keep in mind to pray for you for? i still have another week here in chile before returning to peru... i sorta am considering just traveling alone for a little bit to argentina and perhaps staying to help at an orphanage i know about there for a few wks, cause i still have another 5 weeks of vacation. we'll see though. God's been teaching me different things on this trip too... it's been neat to get energy from meeting so many diverse and interesting people. but at the same time, i feel a serious lack of good Christian fellowship. being among unbelievers for long periods can get wearing, and i don't prefer it, ya know, because there's nothing spoken of what truly matters, the inner life we have through Christ. thanks so much for writing, friend. and if i get the chance at some point, i will keep your offer to visit in mind! take care, and keep trusting in Him for all things! love, beth
17th January 2008

Thanks
William, Thanks for your support via reading the blog. It really helps me stay connected, since I feel very far away here on the island. It is a good feeling that there are others like yourself who want to be involved in my ministry. I will definitely be keeping in touch about a school drive, since I do need supplies. Nos vemos y muchas gracias para todo!

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb