My Home


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

LeonLeonLeon

Alamo bar's terrace overlooking Leon
Leon was a great time. We went out salsa dancing, went to bars to hang out and enjoyed each other’s presence, walked the city, and just relaxed. It was really nice to have this, for after our time in Leon, we would be split up into two different descansio (break) groups. Our group went through some fun times, including meeting the Australian woman who was solo traveling through Mexico and Nicaragua. Another fun memory we have was when one of our members had a terrible dream in the middle of the night and woke up everyone in the hostel. We still laugh about it, as he kicked off parts of the wall when he was kicking in his dream. The screaming sounded haunting and real and lasted for a long time. All the volunteers just lay in their beds, scared to get up. Then, I remember waking up and seeing security, our leader, and the rest of the hostel on the other end of the door as we opened it...They were about ready to kill the killer who was making the "girl" scream. However, they were surprised it was a man that was screaming...and glad that everyone was all right. It
The groupThe groupThe group

Our communal meals at Via Via restaurant in Leon
was just a dream. I also had a dream, that I killed the NPH dog with a whip...It must have been the night of weird dreams...

One thing I noticed about Leon was how many kids asked for money. I always hate when this happens. And, it happens everywhere: Inside the grocery stores, inside hostels, inside buses, well, pretty much wherever you go. It is unavoidable. So, I decided I would buy a bag of candy and give it out. That was my way of contributing while not giving money. And, it was widely accepted by everyone. They were really hungry, and candy helped alleviate that at least for the short term.
I will miss the hip hoppin youth of the city and the beauty of the 9 volcanoes that stretch its land. I will be coming back, for I have to connect with a MN nonprofit there. In fact, I met her while roaming the city. It’s a small world, and especially in Nicaragua. I felt like I was in an European hostel there and it was comforting and brought back memories of my time in Spain.
It was good bonding time with the group, who I am starting to warm up to. Group bonding is important, as it will set up the rest of the time for the year.

We left our hostel at 8 am on Saturday morning. I was jammed into someone’s lap in the taxi to the bus terminal, and from there we went on the bus to Managua.
The bus station in Leon, or any major city is like going to an auction. There are drivers yelling out their destination, even if nobody is there to listen. "Managua, Managua, Managua!!" Seriously, will you ever stop yelling? People will come...Be patient. However, they keep yelling.
Nicaraguans love to honk, yell, speed, oh, and also sell you stuff. You cannot get rid of that. Even on the bus. No salutation signs should be posted, although I doubt anyone would pay attention to them.

The van ride to Managua was great. I opted to sit in the front, where I would not get sick. After 2 hours in a hot van and the fun of bumpy roads, we arrive in the comfortable and familiar city of Managua. We get dropped off at the house, where I spent my first two days. I was able to phone some friends that live in Managua and just felt comfortable knowing that I was in a city with many resources. After an hour or so, we all load up to go to San Jorge, where there were more bumpy roads. In San Jorge, location of NPH´s office, we enjoy a meal. This was the same office I was dropped off right after I got sick with a fever. The driver went to go grocery shopping for a few hours, while I lay hot and sick in the concrete under the sun...And now, someone else in our group is sick...It was me who got her that way.
We also meet the last volunteer in our group, Sana, from Lebanon. It is good to have new energy in the group. She is an energetic idealist with a great personality.
From San Jorge, we go to the ferry in NPH's truck. There are many little transportations to worry about: Van or bus rides form major cities to others but taxi's need to be taken from ferry terminals to bus terminals and to the office or to the orphanage. Getting around is not that easy.

The ferry area offers a BEAUTIFUL view of the island. While you wait, you can just play with the monkeys in the trees above you. It is all exotic here. The water is also sweet. San Jorge is the city coined with the phrase, "El Mar Con Agua Dulce." Getting on that ferry looked daunting, for it looked like it was about to fall apart. However, two large trucks housing bananas managed to get on, so I felt safer. Once inside, we were able to sit down and enjoy a movie, just like a plane ride. Or, if we wanted fresh air, we could take ourselves outside. It was no cruise ride, but I pretended I was on a luxurious cruise line and anxiously went outside, waving goodbye to the civilization I had come to know on the mainland.

After about an hour and fifteen minutes, we landed in Moyogalpa, the main port on the island. Getting the luggage off the ferry was just as hard as getting it on, for we had everything for the year. Mine was harder, having suitcases on wheels. Of course I had offers from little boys to help carry it, but I knew that they would not accept those dulces, only Cordoba. The NPH kids and a big school bus welcomed us. They gave us all hugs under the starry sky as we loaded the stuff into the bus. The ride to the orphanage lasted around 20 minutes and the music was turned up loud as the kids danced on the bus. We landed in Casa Santiago and the kids brought us into the large parlor where they had a presentation. By this point, it was pitch dark and we were tired and hungry, but we were eager to see what the pequenos had for us. At first, a wonderful and beautiful folk dance with the pretty dresses. Then, regatton pieces with a lot of hip shaking, and then dances with girls and boys dancing regatton. Although I was perplexed that this was a Catholic community and they allowed this type of interaction among boys and girls, I let it happen, just smiling that they cared enough to put this presentation on for us. After some food, we all unpacked. The volunteer house is tucked far away in the back of the property. First, you have to walk through a path of beautiful plantain trees growing tall on either side of you. Then, you get to the houses. We have a communal kitchen, and four bedrooms on either end. The beds don't all come with mosquito nets or pillows or even locks for doors. My door locks behind you, but there is no key to open it. If left open, it is not safe...The screen doesn't shut all the way either. The walls are blank and boring. It will need a lot of work. However, there is a washing machine behind the house for the volunteers to use. That luxury is very nice to have. I have already seen gecko’s roam my walls. I have been told to watch out for the scorpions. Insects are everywhere. Thank goodness a volunteer offered me his mosquito net. Besides being welcomed by the kids this night, we were also welcomed by a litter of kittens found a few weeks ago by the existing volunteers. Five beautiful black kittens roamed the area. They were fun to play with and we are choosing one to keep for the year. Although I dislike cats, I love the kittens. They offer youth and they always make me smile. It will be hard to choose just one.


The next day, the volunteer trip to the beaches of San Juan was canceled, for we rely on transport. Since we came in three hours later last night, taking the 4am ferry did not seem like a good idea today. And, the 9:30am ferry was not possible, because the kids relied on the transport for church. Life here is hard, we everyone relies on the transport to get to the ferry or anywhere. If the kids are using it, volunteers can't. I was sad, for a really looked forward to a whole day at the beach with the volunteers, to relax and reflect away from the kids. However, here you cannot plan, for things NEVER go as planned. Flexibility is key here in Nicaragua. That will be the hardest to adjust to. Instead, all volunteers enjoyed mass with the kids and a day off. I was asked to switch my wonderful roommate, and I was upset. Here, just like life, it is hard to make everyone happy and I was sad that I was asked to switch to make one pair happy. We should all just learn to live with what we have. However, my new roommate and I are adjusting.

The next full day, we ate with the kids. I asked some of the dancers who I saw from the first night if they would be interested in joining a salsa club. I gained many responses from girls. I asked them to help me get boys to join. The idea is to have pairs of girls and boys. Today, I got one boy! Apparently, they only dance regatton, but I have convinced them that they should dance with all these pretty girls and I will teach them all that they need to know. Now, once this club is running, I still want to start a Bible study and a running club for the volunteers. Apparently, there are lots of volunteers, about half of our group of 15, that want to join the running club! Here, you have to be productive and proactive or you will go crazy. Just need salsa music and Bibles for the Bible study.

I find myself tired and hungry all the time, and it is only the second day here and we don't interact with the kids much. I am a little worried about when our actual schedule starts at 7am.... However, the kittens and the time off are nice to have for now. I should cherish this right now while I can...

Today was the tour of the island paradise. Our property is huge! As part of this tour, we went to the beach monastery, where we picked oranges and bananas right from the trees. Only in Nicaragua... 😊 The island is open and like paradise. It was nice to get to know the operation. I think I will return to the monastery on my time off to pray, reflect, and perhaps sleep over at. It is nice to have this option. However, the monastery is leaving and the property is up for sale. It won't be here much longer.

We also went to a farm that NPH owns north of the island. The 30-minute drive was just like San Jorge: some paved roads, cattle randomly roaming the land, and of course we rode in the back of the truck.
At the farm, we saw deer, rooster, chickens, and pigs. Life here is dirty and hot, but simple. You just have to use your imagination. There are plenty of walking paths and bikes to use as well. Today, I saw my classroom. I soon became excited to see the brightly painted and well organized room. Naomi, the former teacher, left me a great classroom, well stocked with desks and ordered nicely. I soon got excited for my year and for my students. I still need to organize a school drive, as the kids have nothing to work with. However, I have a classroom. That is a blessing in itself.

In a few days, I am going to be climbing up Volcano Maderas, the non-active volcano on the other side of the island. I will be with the other volunteers and some of the pequenos. It will be quite the trek, 8 hours total! I will also be starting my week as an aunt to about 5 older boys this week. Pray for my strength as I continue to get over the terrible cough.




Advertisement



16th January 2008

Mawa!
Jejeje, I laughed at the reference to the colectivos. After a few weeks I found myself chanting "¡Mawa Mawa Mawa!" in a nasal mantra.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb