Nicaragua: First Experiences Recorded


Advertisement
Published: January 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Lago TiscapaLago TiscapaLago Tiscapa

A lake in Managua. Que bonita, no?
My big day arrives. My last memories from the Unites States still linger in my head…a ver…it was New Years Eve, and I just finished babysitting for the Higgins, a family on Lake of the Isles. Although it is New Years, my evening is not that boring. I get to see luxury and abundance one last time before I leave the country. They get back around midnight and just as I walk out to my door to get something in my car, I hear fireworks in the distance. A beautiful lake and the memorable sound of fireworks synced together like vanilla and chocolate. Quite a memorable moment.

The next day, I pack, pack pack. Power packing. I think it took me 10 hours! I finish packing around midnight. I didn’t get any sleep. My flight left at 5:30am the very next day.

My dad drops me off at the airport. Our tearful goodbye leaves me in the long line with Delta. It seems deceptively long, but it goes quick. It really does. While going through the line, I see a girl and see that she is going to Managua. At the gate, I ask her what she is going
Lake ManaguaLake ManaguaLake Managua

Me in front of Lake Managua and las montanas.
there for. Turns out she is an Augsburg college student who’s Augsburg roommate is from Nicaragua and is in Managua for her J-term! Her friend is in connection with non-profits connected with Augsburg College specifically. However, it’s a small world! The flight into Atlanta is on time, but when it comes to getting on our connecting flight to Managua, the plane is already boarded and it is 10 minutes to leaving. All the Minneapolis people dash to get on that flight. Although the Atlanta airport was massive, I am glad that girl I met was there to help me manage it. We get on the plane and it takes off right away. I am privileged to sit next to two Nicaraguan college students who answer any questions I have about the country. When the flight lands, I feel like home. Although I never flew into the Managua airport, I still feel comfortable and now I have a new friend who knows a local here, and both being from the college I obtained my degree from! I feel the warm air instantly as I get off the plane. It is a good feeling. One year ago, I was here. One year
La Casa del PresidenteLa Casa del PresidenteLa Casa del Presidente

Me in a plaza...by the palace and some other governmental buildings.
ago. That’s how long a year is! And, oh how familiar the country was to me after such a long time. Turns out that because all the Minneapolis people ran to get on the Atlanta flight, our luggage never got on the flight…So, it will be here in 24 hours…I didn’t have my toothbrush or a change of clothing. I will be stinky for 48 hours.

I see people against the wall on the other side of customs. My name is on a paper sign and there is a large group, of the other volunteers, mostly from Germany, and the program coordinators. They are all so nice. I give them all hugs and then we all hop into the back of a truck. The back…. This would NEVER happen in MN! Driving through Managua was fun…brings back old times from one year ago. The smells of street vendor fruits and vegetables and sewer/garbage, the speed bumps, the honking taxi's and impatient cars...the signs for Flor de Cana, Nicaraguan's famous rum drink and Victoria, their famous beer. It all comes back. One man tried to sell us his tortuga, turtle. It is an experience that I am much better able
El PalacioEl PalacioEl Palacio

I snuck inside the palace...shh!
to handle compared to last year.

Along the way, we pick up some of the pequenos from the NPH orphanage in Managua and all pile into the back, even more tightly than before. If we all stink, I guess it is not such a problem! The directors are nice to treat us to a lunch of purely Nicaraguan food: gallo pinto, cabbage, and tortilla. The familiar foods come back to my memory from one year ago. Although, I do have to say my stomach was not adjusting well even after day one. I offered the rest of my food to a hungry pequeno in our group.

Upon arrival at the guesthouse, I try to sleep but am not able to. My stomach continues to give me pain...I go with the other volunteers and directors to the private clinic. It was not too bad of an experience, but one that would be difficult without any fluency in Spanish. My doctor, who was a student I believe, had to draw a lot of pictures for me.

I found out that I have an infection in my stomach, but can be helped by antibiotics. The local pharmacy down the street was able to help us out. Brings back old times of walking to get your medicine, not using a car all the time. Along the way, we see families out enjoying their porch and each other. It is a nice sight.

It was quite a day, from little sleep, to lost luggage, to going to a clinic in a third world country! However, the amazing personalities of the others involved in the program made the day go by much better and faster. I am getting ideas for future lesson plans and ways to give more back to these pequenos when I get to the island. Until then, I am taking it easy, getting used to Nicaraguan way of life one more time.








Advertisement



4th January 2008

Tu primer día...
Wow, That's quite a first day! Your words are so descriptive that I can almost picture each place. Hearing about the interdependence and generosity of everyone was what I enjoyed most. Ojala que tu estomago siente mejor! -G.M.
6th January 2008

will be keeping in touch
This is Michellita's Uncle from North Dakota. Wishing her well on her experiance and will be checking back often. Quite a first day Mich. Lynn
6th January 2008

Love the pictures
Michelle, It is so good to see your smiles and yet you are so far away but so close in my heart. Love for ever and ever, DAD

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb