"It's going to be weird to leave here"


Advertisement
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Got up this morning, and showered.
Reminded myself of all the things to miss the water pressure is not one of them.

Paid off my debts, and sat down for breakfast.
No fish this morning...it must be their gift to us.
Enjoyed porridge.

Took some photos with the staff at the guesthouse, and said our goodbyes.

Waited outside for Rocky, who was 15 minutes late.
Keith suggested that he might be late because he was getting us shakes.
I laughed.

We get into work, and have a meeting with our supervisor.
Turns out we have a large final report that needs to be written in great detail -- we were not expecting this. So much for sneaking out of the office a little early today.

Work non-stop all day on our final reports.
Looks like I'll be finishing mine in the next week and submitting it via email.

Rocky is sleeping in his car when we walk out of the office.
We head home.

Change out of my work clothes, get an ice cold Red Stripe, and head for the roof-top patio.

I skim the chapter in 'The Humanitarian Companion' on 'Going Home' -- I figure there's no better time than now to read up on the topic.

Keith joins me with a frosty Guiness in hand (brewed here in Kingston).
We sit and discuss the last two months...

Things couldn't have turned out any better than they did.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb