"He told me how much he was going to miss us"


Advertisement
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sunday morning I slept until 10am. It was great!

We hung out around the guesthouse most of the day and went back to Wendy's for lunch. Watched a couple of movies, and not much else.

I had horribly creepy dreams for the second night in a row. I turned on the tv and watched a few hours of the most wholesome thing on TV I could find -- The Cosby Show. I ended up sleeping maybe 3 hours?

I decided that I am not taking the remaining 4 weeks of anti-malaria medication. Getting malaria would have to be better than the dreams I've been having.

Went into work, and talked with our supervisor about the remaining projects and our evaluation.

Did some internet research...

One of the women at work comes back into our office and says that someone from our guesthouse is on the phone for us, and that she will transfer the call back to our office. Keith and I get worried that something bad happened. Maybe a fire? Maybe a break-in? Maybe...

Maybe the woman at the guesthouse forgot to tell the kitchen that we wanted to order dinner...so no Sweet and Sour Chicken for dinner tonight. We are on our own.

I'm super disappointed.

Come home, and nap for 2 hours.

End up ordering Indian food, and bringing it back to my room to eat.

Tuesday got up and went into work.

Worked on some projects, did some research.
The power went out at the office around 3:00pm, but the internet and computers worked for another 30 minutes. As soon as the computers shut down, Keith and I packed up and fumbled in the dark down the hallway using our cell phones for light until we got to the stairs that were partly light, with the exception of one flight that was completely black.

Made it outside, and Rocky picked us up a few minutes later.
Went home and had dinner.

Woke up at 9am this morning with a phone call from the guesthouse staff that breakfast was ready.
Went downstairs and had breakfast.
Today is Independence Day, and we have the day off from work.

Hung out around the guesthouse, and mid afternoon walked down to Emancipation Park to see if there were any festivities going on.
There were people down there but no organized celebrations.
Had lunch at Juici Patties, and walked back home.

Happy Independence Day!

Only two more days of work down here...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb