"That's a lot of bananas"


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Got up Monday and had "breakfast." Went into work and talked with our supervisor, he is going to be out of the office as is his assistant for the remainder of the week.
We continue working on project proposals -- I use the term "working" loosely as there have been countless setbacks and frustrations...its to the point where we joke about it due to the level of confusion surrounding the assignment.

We leave work and walk out to where Rocky is parked, he has taken to falling asleep while waiting for us...and typically jumps rather high when I open the car door. I come home and don't want to do anything, I've had a very bad headache for most of the afternoon.

We finalize plans for this coming weekend -- it's our last BIG weekend -- we are taking Friday off from work, taking the bus down to Montego Bay and staying at a hotel for Friday, Saturday and coming back to Kingston Sunday late afternoon. I am pretty excited about it, seeing as how we only have two more weekends here in Jamaica. It will be nice to go somewhere new for the weekend. And it's gonna be the last big thing we do (probably).

We had dinner at the guesthouse and had Sweet & Sour Chicken (a new menu item!!!). It was so great to have something different!!!!

I couldn't sleep last night, but was surprisingly awake all day today.
I got up and went down to breakfast.
We sat there for 20 minutes before we were served a banana, and bread that could only marginally pass as toast. Then after another 15 minutes they brought out the steamed veggie dish and boiled bananas. I could hardly hide the dissapointment on my face after I took a few bites. I then noticed something funny in my mouth. Turns out my veggies are best served with FISH BONE.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!

It's official. I HATE FISH. I HATE ANYTHING HAVING TO DO WITH FISH. I HATE FOOD THAT PRETENDS ITS NOT FISH AND THEN IS FISH. I HATE FISH SMELL. I HATE THE TASTE. I HATE HOW IT LOOKS. I HATE FISH THAT DOESN'T TASTE LIKE FISH.

I get to work and have a meeting with another one of our supervisors to get some more guidance on the project proposals.

Keith and I discuss our lunch plans, he intends to have 2 bananas for lunch. I find this absolutely HILARIOUS -- bringing his daily banana total up to 5. I find this sooo funny that while trying to explain to Keith that he already ate 3 bananas today I laugh so hard that I can't form sentences and end up crying. Once I gather myself enough to actually speak coherant sentences (which takes about 5-10 minutes) he also finds this funny.

Around lunch time I walk back to the kitchen, where all of the ladies in the office are eating fish. The smell lingers on my clothes, and in my nostrils. It follows me back to my office. Where I then proceed to explain to Keith in great detail all of the reasons why I hate fish. I look up online variations of "WHY I HATE FISH" to see if anyone has yet to compile a list. I seriously consider starting an online community dedicated to this topic.

Work more.

Then head home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb