"Did I get it wrong again?"


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Got up Wednesday and went down to breakfast.
Ate 2 plantain pieces, one piece of yam, my fruit and toast. The woman that runs the guesthouse commented that I must not like Okra (which is mixed with fish).
NO I do not like Okra.
And NO I do not like fish.
Put it together and what have you got? The breakfast of champions.

We ended up having a short conversation about how I don't like fish -- she wasn't aware of this. Clearly the women in the kitchen have not been telling her that 6 out of 7 mornings when we are served fish that I can't even bring myself to push around the food to make it look like I at least tried some of it.

We then walked over to the UNICEF office, only a 10 minute walk from out place to go to a 10am meeting with the country head for Jamaica. She happens to be the good friend of the wife of one of my professors back at DU. So we met with her for a while to discuss our experiences in Jamaica and about UNICEF and humanitarian work in general.

We pre-arranged for the driver from our work to pick us up, and I was to call when we were done. I call him to let him know we're ready to go and he appears to know nothing of the plan. He says he'll be there to pick us up in 15 minutes. We wait 40 minutes and he finally arrives. On the way to the office he stops at a bank for "just one minute." I wonder if we were a little higher up in the organization if we would have had to wait 40 minutes to get picked up, and then taken to some random bank on the way back to the office. I can't imagine my boss getting the same treatment...

Go to work.

About lunch time I remember that I didn't have any food today to bring into work for lunch. Keith and I discuss our options.
Instant coffee.
Instant Malt deydrated beverage.
Juici Patties (which was a bit of a let down the last time we had it).
KFC (which both made us feel a touch sick last time).
or....drum roll please...
Burger King (which we haven't had yet -- due to my self-imposed NO American food rule).

It was pretty clear that we broke that rule after only a little while here when Keith in desperation talked me into getting KFC. And at Mega Mart this past weekend when I broke down and ate Ben & Jerrys and Death Pockets.

So...BK it was. We were scared about what it would taste like -- since we have both experienced less than acceptable BK/McDonalds experiences while overseas. Imagine our satisfaction when we pulled open the doors and the familiar smell of low grade beef and fry grease wafted out towards us.

Whopper Jr. with cheese combo meal here I come!

Finished up work. Came home and walked to the New Kingston Shopping Centre. Keith is on a mission to buy a jump rope. We find one at the Woolworth and I decide to buy one also. I decide to lean over a box and use the wall that the jump rope is hanging on as leverage to stop my forward momentum.
Funny story -- turns out that wasn't a wall.
It was really just a piece of shelving/peg-board.
Which due to my entire body weight suddenly being thrust onto it nearly toppled over onto the people that were standing on the otherside of the isle.
So much for being slick, and just swooping in there to buy a $1.50 jump rope.

Went to the market and bought Easy Mac, because that sounds slightly better than a cup of dehydrated noodles at this point.
Walked home. Did some laundry. And went to bed. It felt like Christmas eve -- seeing as how Thursday was the day I've been looking forward to all week. The last day of work for the week and then we're shipping up to Montego Bay very early Friday morning.

Woke up a few minutes before my alarm. I never realized how much better of a mood I am in when I wake up on my own. Went downstairs to eat breakfast. I wore a skirt today that I haven't worn all trip, it felt wonderful to wear at least one item that hasn't been scrubbed by hand in my sink.

Breakfast arrived WITHOUT fish. It was the veggie dish again, but this time no fish bone. JOY! Head into work.

I decide to count the number of times I hear cars honk on the way into work. In order to get an accurate count I decided to count the incidents of honking rather than the absolute number of honks. For example, Rocky crosses into oncoming traffic and honks twice briefly to let them know that he is getting into the oncoming lane -- I would count that as 1 incident rather than 2 individual honks. Everyone got that? Today turned out to be a relatively low honk day, only 15 honk incidents on the 15 minute drive into work. I was expecting a much higher number than that.

Perhaps your thinking to yourself that I have reached a new milestone in the Jamaica adventure that I have been reduced to counting "honking incidents" on the ride to work and endlessly complaining about fish. In which case, I would most certainly agree with you...

Work on locating and applying for grants for my project proposal.

Get a little distracted by looking at apartments/condos/townhomes/houses that are for rent and for sale in Denver...

I laugh about the most ridiculous things now...I think it's reverse altitude delirium or something like that. I'm sure that everyone in our office will be pleased when I leave if nothing else for the simple fact that they won't have to hear my spontaneous giggling periodically throughout the day.

Made lunch -- didn't put enough water in, so the noodles were sort of crispy. Then added too much water after the fact in an attempt to salvage the Easy Mac, which turned my mac n' cheese into a soupy mess. Which I forced down anyway.

"Worked" some more, and before I knew it, it was time to come home.

Watched horrible TV and then eventually ate dinner.
The plan is to go to bed early -- so that Christmas will come more quickly!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb