"We're trying to have 1st world services on a 3rd world budget"


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Get up this morning.

Eat breakfast -- get excited because we think its the vegetarian meal (my favorite so far) -- turns out there is fish hiding amidst the veggies. BOO!
So dissapointed. Jeff the other guest joins us for breakfast -- he announces that he is moving to Houston, TX. I share how much I hate Houston...(I got stuck there last summer).

Rocky arrives early.

Go to work.

Go downstairs to meet with our supervisor for the Ministry of Health to go with him over to the psychiatric hospital (the only one in all of Jamaica). We arrive and both he and his secretary are MIA.

Sit awkwardly in the middle of a hallway on folding chairs (mine is broken and the seat is collapsing). They eventually arrive. We sit there for 45 minutes before leaving the office. We ride in his BMW.

We arrive at the psych hospital, and go up to the large meeting room. We are all introduced. All of the important people are there from the Southeast Region of Jamaica to discuss the mental health reform and strategic plan for the next 5 years.

For the next 2 hours everyone (except for Keith and I) engages in a VERY heated debate. At the end Keith and I are asked our opinions...eek!

We go back to the office.

Have lunch. Another delicious Jamaican cup o' noodles complete with the folding fork. FYI -- you will all be getting them as gifts, because they rock!

Play phone-tag with the woman we are going with tomorrow to see the mental health clinics in the southwest. You're not able to directly dial out from the office, you have to call the operator and then ask her to dial the number for you. This caused quite a bit of confusion today when I was trying to get her to call the woman to plan our transport tomorrow. I basically ended up playing phone-tag with the operator and the woman I actually needed to speak with.

I gave up at the end of the day, and used my mobile to call the woman -- turns out things are less complicated when you just do them yourself.

Keith and I have to meet with a driver that Rocky arranged to pick us up at 6:30am, to drive us to the "Spanishtown Bypass." We'll get further instruction tomorrow morning...

Keith's hair is outta-control. I shave his head.

Eat dinner.

Do some laundry in my tiny bathroom sink. There is only enough room to wash 4 shirts at a time. This is starting to become my nightly ritual.

Keith on the other hand has decided to ditch washing his clothes.
He is the smelly kid.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb