"No, You don't understand -- people don't like Americans"


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Get up early this morning to shower, which I normally do the night before b/c the water pressure is better at night.

The water pressure is FANTASTIC! (The best I've seen it since we've arrived!)
Put shampoo in my hair.

NO WATA.

I remember that I'm suppose to call "0" to tell them to turn the water pump on.
Get out of the shower -- dripping every where -- nearly slip and break my neck twice walking out of the bath around the room to the phone.

Get back in the shower, nearly slipping again.
Great way to start the day!

Get breakfast.
Keith is running a lil late.
Rocky is running a little early.
I've been awake for nearly two hours and already had a couple of close calls.

Get to work.
Arrange transport to the Children's Hospital where we have a 10am meeting to discuss the activities Keith and I can do with them.

Go to the children's hospital where we meet the two case workers, and other project staff. Discuss our ideas for the internship with them. Then next thing I know we are leaving with Sheldon one of the case workers to do two school visits to investigate and assess two children that have been injured due to possible abuse.

Go to the School for the Blind -- investigate the case of a child by speaking with the school security guy (?), the school guidance counselor (she is initially very short, guarded and defensive by the three of us showing up in her office. She believes that everyone is potentially qualified to be there -- except for me OFCOURSE!), the two teachers of the two students involved in the incident, and then each of the students.

The school is run in conjunction with The Salvation Army -- and they get groups of different volunteers that come and work for 10 days at a time. A group of them walk past -- they are White -- the case worker asks if we know them.
We don't.

From there we head to another school across town -- one of the best schools in the parish. They just received two scholarships for two students to continue their education -- this is a HUGE deal because scholarships and academics are very tough. We meet the principal, the two guidance counselors, the students teacher, and the student.

We leave.

We are taken to this HUGE store (Mega Mart) that is a place something like Costco.

We get ice cream at the place that Keith and I have been hearing has the best Ice Cream in Kingston (Devon House).
I get mango flavor.
It's delicious.
It's refreshing.
It's cold.

I'm hot.

We hang out with Sheldon at his apartment.
We watch a boot-leg version of the new Hulk movie with Edward Norton.
It's horrible quality -- and has Chinese subtitles.

It's so hot.
I'm sweating.
I'm still wearing my work clothes.
I'm sticking to the couch.

We talk about politics -- America -- and Jamaica.

It's so hot.
I'm sweating.
I'm sticking to my work clothes and the couch.

Sheldon drives us home.

I am starting to get irrational from the heat...and starting to feel a lil like the HULK myself.

I turn on the A/C in my room full-blast.
I get in the shower, and pray that there is water pressure.

There is.

Thank god.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb