Day 4


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, Day 4 started off really shitty... literally.

Lastnight before I went to bed, I felt sick and was in the bathroom a few times with the shits. I went to bed, feeling a little better, then woke up this morning and it was the same thing. The only thing that Jill and I ate that was different from each other was that at Wendy's on day 2, I had a taco salad. At the time I didn't even think about it because it's Wendy's but I guess the lettuce and vegetables were washed in their water or had some kind of pestisides on them that my body is not used to yet. Apparently it's normal for this to happen the first couple weeks. Chris had warned me of this. I just feel bad because Jills and I were supposed to go to the school today to ask for another jug of water (we went through half of one of those GIANT jugs yesterday) and then we were going to try out "Benjamin's Pizza" for lunch.

I slept for a bit, got up for a bit, then slept for even more. I just feel drained. According to the information the travel clinic gave me, I'm really dehydrated. I've eaten some ritz crackers to try to get some electrolytes (salts) back into my body, and am drinking the suggested 3 parts water, 1 part juice. Just feels bad to be sick when you're supposed to be out exploring.

It's not uncommon though to get this. The info from the travel clinic said that 50%!o(MISSING)f travellers will experience some form of traveller's diarrhea. And out of those 50%!,(MISSING) 20%!a(MISSING)re bed ridden for the day. Yay me. Maybe I will attempt some soup for dinner.

Maybe I just need a whole lot of rest. Tomorrow is a new day.

On a different note, here are some more things that I thought to write about when my mom asked all sorts of questions in an e-mail...

Security at the house is great. The first night was a man that was alright but seemed a little weird. The past two nights we've had another man who seems really good. They wear a uniform and carry a big gun. They wander around inside our gates, between the three house. There's an outhouse for them out back. We have a key for the gate and for the house. There are locks on our doors too but we haven't felt the need to use these.

The address for the school is:
Sarah Willett
Escuela Bilingue Honduras
Apartado Postal #50
Comayagua Honduras 12101

The mail will go to the school. It's about 3 weeks via air-mail and 3 months via ground-mail.

The next staff arrives on Monday. I don't know who it is though. Then the other grade 5 teacher, Jenna, arrives on Tuesday. If the person arriving monday is a girl, we may be living with all females. It'd be nice to have some guys though... I dunno. We didn't get to pick our house, it was just the one that was ready first. They're still getting the other houses ready apparently. Who knows if the next people in will want to be in our house or will want nicer bedrooms in the other house. I'm sorta hoping for that so that we have some guys in our house. It just helps the dynamic of the house and will be better than 4 girls on PMS getting on each other's nerves.

To get to school, we walk through town down one of the main paved roads. It's not as nice as the pics on my blog. Those parts are really well-kept parts. The road to school is dirtier and with rundown buildings along it. There is a mix of stores and houses on the strip. This road then takes us to the main boulevard in town which the school is on.

It's pooring right now. The rain here is weird. To look outside you'd never know. It's still totally sunny. Oh ya, and Honduras is an hour behind you guys (well, most of you...)



Advertisement



5th August 2006

Egad, your spelling's A-troe-shish
I know this is coming from the guy who spelled Comayagua wrong in one of my first blogs, but, hey, get yourself a dictionary, man. The copy editor in me is hurtin' here. I'll get to the bottom line here . . . (argh). Sorry to here about your poopy problems Friday. Make sure you stay strong and healthy. You won't be much good to anybody if you burn yourself out in the first full week. There, spoken like a true Dad. Love you. Godspeed. DAD
5th August 2006

Hi :)
Thanks for the indirect shout out (Well, most of you...) I appreciate! I hate the shits too! I hope your feeling better. Thinkin of you and Jills often. Take Care.
5th August 2006

Sorry you are not feeling well pumpkin...try and get some gingerale in you too if it is available...also great for boosting your electrolytes. I think you were right about the lettuce...Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day. *hugs*
5th August 2006

Glad you are enjoying yourself so much. Really just throw yourself into the culture and immerse every bone. Traveling to other countries is and amazing experience!! You will remember this forever. Wicked you are doing it! xoxo
5th August 2006

Get Well
Sorry to hear that you are not feeling well. Make sure that you take care of yourself so you don't get worst. Hope it doesn't last too long. I know that even when I've been on vacation in the tropics the same thing has happened to me. It usually only last a day or two. Hopefully it will not be any worst for you. Anyway get well soon. Love Uncle Wally
5th August 2006

Poop sucks
I love you. I miss you. Poop sucks. Talk to you on msn babe...
5th August 2006

Poops eh, well that sucks, but this too shall pass, literally. Love your enteries, you sound like dora the explorer, hehehe. I am still house sitting and have been away from my MSN, but a couple ore days and we can chat some more. Have fun, rest and relax!!!

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 72; dbt: 0.146s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb