Hurricanes and Halloween


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras
November 5th 2011
Published: November 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My classMy classMy class

All dressed up!
I’m officially SCUBA certified! I finished my open water dives, which were really fun, so now I can dive whenever I want to! Of course the weekend I chose to do this was also the coldest weekend yet this season, complete with rain and clouds, but I didn’t let that stop me from finishing the certification. I may or may not have refused to get out of my wetsuit for a few hours after the dive because it was so cold, but that doesn’t matter. Right? I hope the weather becomes nicer soon so that I can start doing some fair-weather fun dives.
Hurricane Rina passed by us about a week and a half ago, which caused us to have a “rain day” off from school because all the rain washed out part of the road. The good news is that Rina mostly missed us, so all we had was some rain and cloudy skies, but we would have had that anyway since it’s rainy season. And what, you may ask, did I and some of my fellow teachers decide to do with our day off, during the hurricane warning? The only logical thing- walk through the rain and mud to a local bakery for hot chocolate and pastries. The walk really wasn’t bad, besides the massive amounts of slippery mud and the downed power lines lying all over the road. I did have one unfortunate moment where my Crocs failed me and I did an epic slow-motion slide and landed on the ground in the mud, but besides that there was nothing too special.
Last week our school celebrated Halloween and then had a “Monster Bash” that night, complete with games, food, and a costume contest. We did the event as a fundraiser for the school and had a really good turnout. The teachers, parents, and kids all dressed up in costume and it was a lot of fun. After the event some of the teachers went out for a drink. I, along with 2 other people, was still in costume so we got a few interesting stares, but mostly I just got a lot of compliments on my hair (by the way, I was a Who from Dr. Seuss).
It’s been raining almost every day for the past few weeks, but today it was finally sunny so I got to go to the beach. It’s interesting; I thought I would get bored of going to the beach all the time, but it’s actually the opposite. If I go a few weeks and don’t get to go to the beach, like I have these past few weeks due to rain, I actually feel quite deprived in an “oh my gosh, I haven’t been to the beach in FOREVER” kind of way.

I’ll leave you with a quote from 2nd grade.
Student: “Miss Rachel, is a bat a type of fish?”
Me: “….No. No it is not.”
Oh how I love them.



Advertisement



6th November 2011

hair
How did you make your hair do that?

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb