Finally, an update!


Advertisement
Published: December 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

(note: This is a late posting I wrote a little while ago and forgot to post. I’ll be posting a more updated one soon)

I’ve had some internet problems this past month, which is why I haven’t posted in a while, but hopefully all my problems should be fixed now! I haven’t been up to anything too exciting, just the normal teaching stuff during the week and then beach on the weekends when it’s nice. I haven’t been able to dive due to a quite annoying and persistent congestion issue, but I’m getting better now and hope to be diving soon. The school winter concert is coming up soon, so I’ve been busy preparing all the kids for that. Hopefully all goes well!

I celebrated Thanksgiving here with my “Roatan family”. It was really fun, with everyone contributing a “signature dish” so that we had lots of delicious food. We had Americans, Canadians, and Hondurans at our Thanksgiving, so there was a lot of swapping of traditions and of course discussions about what Thanksgiving really means. After dinner we spent the rest of the night playing poker, doing a dance videogame (difficult after eating so much), and singing karaoke.
Sunset in West BaySunset in West BaySunset in West Bay

Nothing to do with this post. It's just pretty.


These past couple weeks, I’ve had a few interesting run-ins with animals. The first one occurred when I was returning to my classroom, and was informed by some 3rd graders that there was a mouse in their classroom. Knowing that this was not something the 3rd grade teacher would be happy about, I went into the classroom to offer my help. Long story short, the mouse was trapped in the bathroom and I ended up catching it in the trashcan and then delivering him to the main office. I was tempted to keep it as a class pet, but I didn’t have a cage.

Later that same week, I also found myself battling a crab. He wanted to stay in a tire where lots of little kids played, and I wanted him to leave. It was a bit of a struggle, but in the end I prevailed. At least now we just find crabs on the playground instead of fires and machetes. Baby steps.



Tales from 2nd grade:



Student (hugging me): “Miss Rachel! I don’t have head lice anymore!”

Me: “That’s good… but let’s do high fives instead of hugs today.”



During a discussion about where food comes from…

Student 1: “Coconuts come from trees.”

Student 2: “Eggs come from chickens.”

Student 3: “Bananas come from monkeys.”



Students have to use spelling words in sentences. An excerpt:

“I have a lot of girl friends because I’m beautiful.”

Advertisement



21st December 2011

Great student quotes! Thanksgiving sounds like it was really neat with all the people from different places. Glad the playground is becoming more safe. :-)
21st December 2011

<3
Student (hugging me): “Miss Rachel! I don’t have head lice anymore!” Me: “That’s good… but let’s do high fives instead of hugs today.” ^^ hahahahahhahahahhaahahhahaahhahahahahahahahahhahahhaha Also, what signature dish did you contribute to Thanksgiving? Is it one of the faves from your food blog?

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb