Proyectos~ Activities the past couple months


Advertisement
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ProyectoProyectoProyecto

Karina is one of my English students and I have her in Reinforcement, these are her 2 little siblings
Proyecto

The past couple months havent really been eventful, other than Easter and Holy Week. One of the things I have taken pictures of is the proyectos we do with the kids. If you don’t remember, that is when we are assigned to a family (we do it once a month), usually with a kid from our hogar (my hogar is really small and I have already done all 7 kids in my hogar, so now I am being assigned kids from other hogars), and one evening instead of having dinner with the hogar, they come to the Volunteer House, along with all of their brothers and/or sisters (almost always living within several different hogares). We then cook dinner together (bought of course, by the volunteers), what they usually like to make is pizza, and end the night by making cake together. It gives them a chance to have a nice dinner with their family. The kids love it and we always have fun doing it. Here are some pictures from my proyectos the last couple months.

I have also included pictures from a volunteer dinner where we went to a little restaurant in the closest town, La Venta,
El GordoEl GordoEl Gordo

This is Karina's little brother Benjamin, they call him El Gordo, or Fatty.
and a few pictures from a “talent show” night activity we had at the ranch. The talent show was actually pretty funny and the kids were really cute. I was sitting with this little girl Marisol and her brother Ronald. She was having so much fun, and when a kid would do something funny, she would look back at me with the biggest smile on her face, her eyes laughing and kinda squinty- the eyes of a truly happy child. I am sure any mother knows exactly what I am talking about and I kept trying to capture that smile with my camera, but couldn’t. It was one of those moments where you really see the pure innocence in a child. It made me feel very sad for her parents who aren’t able to appreciate her beauty and happiness. I was also lucky to hang out with one of my favorite little girls Heidi. She is so sweet and innocent and I adore her. She has really serious speech problems and you can barely understand her; she is kind of delayed in her maturity and intellectually, which just add to her preciousness. Anyway, I had a lot of fun hanging
Proyecto with PerezProyecto with PerezProyecto with Perez

I had proyecto with Perez, because he has no family at the Ranch, he invited his friend Merlin. Margen, Perez, Me, Merlin
out with her too.

Here are some pictures.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Out in La VentaOut in La Venta
Out in La Venta

This is the volunteer dinner were we went to the little town called La Venta. This is me and Margen,
Talent ShowTalent Show
Talent Show

Marisol, me and her brother Ronald.
MarisolMarisol
Marisol

this was my attempt to capture her smiling eyes, although its not the smile i was trying to get, its still really cute.
ProyectoProyecto
Proyecto

This is the proyecto with Eliu, one of my english students, and his brother and sister. Isaac, Dixie, Eliu
Proyecto with MayronProyecto with Mayron
Proyecto with Mayron

Another proyecto dinner with Mayron and his little brother, Luis, or also known as Pitito
PititoPitito
Pitito

Mayron's little brother helping make Baleadas (this is what i made when i came home in december, for those who were at my house)
HermanosHermanos
Hermanos

Brothers~ Mayron and Pitito
Proyecto personalProyecto personal
Proyecto personal

Our own personal proyecto with Arony and Jennifer- me and arony made homemade pizza and Jennifer made Brownies. I was really proud of how the pizza came out.
Talent Show~ HeidiTalent Show~ Heidi
Talent Show~ Heidi

This is my angelito, Heidi. Isnt she so cute?


16th June 2008

The kids always look happy in the pictures. It is a wonderful thing to see them happy and cared for. I am looking forward to seeing my happy child in a month!!!!!! Love, Mom

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb