Final days


Advertisement
Published: April 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I guess my time in Honduras is coming to an end. Wednesday was my last day of teaching. The actual Honduran English teacher called Diana was away so i took all the classes totally on my own. I guess i'm on my own most of the time anyway because Diana always tends to leave the lesson....but usually i'm with one other English person! Being completely on my own was a scary prospect but it actually went really well. We just did revision of the words they find tricky eg butterfly, uncle, white...i could go on! They listened really well and I found stickers were a good bribe for fast writing! (Copying each word 10 times can take them a while!)

Today was my last day of building. We were carrying adobes around but mainly just putting lodo, (i mean mud) on the wall. Mud is used as cement you see. It's a fun job. I prefer picking it up with my hands to using a shovel. Gaelyn and I got kinda competitive about whose wey's better. My fun way or her boring conventional way! I think mine's better. Gonzalo said, "Mucho lodo" and i'm pretty sure it was
HumHumHum

Me trying to teach
in reference to my pile! To be honest much of our building time is spent playing with Glenda the little 5 year old girl at the site. We also had an hour long coffee break today which was nice. I'm a huge fan of black coffee here by the way. It's really good.

Yeah i'm still having loads of fun here. It's kinda sad I have to leave but i'm sure the bahamas will live up to my high expectations!! Seeing Alex and Katie after almost 2 months will be cool too. Looking forward to it.

I had the worst trip to the bank ever today. I wanted to cash travellers' cheques. 200 in dollars and 50 dollars worth into lempira. The guy said fine fine and stamped away, cheques processed. Then i went to the woman to collect the dollars, "No hay dolares" she says (I can't spell in Spanish as yet!) Basically, we don't have dollars. The problem was that as the cheques had been processed they had to give me money. They said all they could do was give me it all in lempira. What in the world could I do with 4700 lemps?!?! The
7th grade7th grade7th grade

7th grade
answer, go to Utila for a week. But alas no time. There's nothing you can do with 4700 lempira in La Esperanza in two days. Anyway, I spent about half an hour looking upset and using my best bad Spanish to explain that i was leaving Honduras and Lempira are useless in the US and everywhere else in the world for that matter. Thankfully after all that time they managed to materialise dollars from somewhere. Phew! Had I been in that situation 6 weeks ago there's no way I would have been able to walk out of that bank without 4700 lemps. Language skills are so important over here. It's really weird being somewhere where nobody speaks English.

Plans for tonight, go to El Fogon. Plans for tomorrow night, much the same. I'm trying to find recruits to sing karaoke (saturday is karaoke night). So far I have a grand total of exactly 0. I'm off now to work on that figure! Wish me luck!!

Last thing, i have lots of photos up on my facebook if any of you care to look.
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1614900060
That's the link to my main profile...you have to click one of the albums
SupergranSupergranSupergran

Here's supergran, the lady we're building the house for
on the left to see pictures. Now to find recruits!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

KidsKids
Kids

These are the kids from the site. Christian, Glenda and baby Kevin
HouseHouse
House

This is as far as I got with the house building
CarryingCarrying
Carrying

Sayra on my back
HomestayHomestay
Homestay

Camilla, Sayra and I
HomestayHomestay
Homestay

Fran with a decorated balloon


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb