The Caribbean, River Rafting, Hot Springs, what a week!


Advertisement
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

The perfect day at the beachThe perfect day at the beachThe perfect day at the beach

This will be the desktop image on my computer when I get home.
This past week has been intense. Last Friday we left for our trip to the coast. We drove to a tiny town (if you can really call it that) west of Tela called San Juan. We went to a desolate restaraunt on the beach. The beach was empty of people and absolutely beautiful. I have never seen such a beautiful beach. The water was crystal clear, aqua blue, calm waves, and very warm. I had shrimp and swam. This summer is the first time I have actually spent a significant amount of time in the water in ten years. When I lived in NC, there was one summer where there were 4 shark attacks in one month. I think that kind of scarred me. But now I cant get enough of the water. Rosa and I complained when JA told us it was time to leave, "But MOOOOOM! We dont want to get out of the water!!" I didnt see any fish or seaweed or anything in the water. Although Claudius, JA´s boyfriend, saw something yellow and he tried to fake me and Rosa out " Hey look! A yellow fish!" It turned out to be a gross pair of little shorts. That was kinda nasty. However, that was an isolated incident.
We only spent a few hours there, then drove the rest of the way to Omega Lodge. This is an eco-tourist lodge thingy near La Ceiba. We arrived at night, driving up a windy dirt road up a mountain with a drop and a river to our right. Pretty damn cool! We went river rafting on Saturday. And I loved it. I can´t wait to do some rafting in the Nantahala in NC or in Taos, NM. It was pretty cheap at Omega, but I heard its much more expensive at Taos or wherever. The rafting was great, I worked really hard paddling and didn´t fall out once. (kinda wish I had.. just for the adventure). Then we went on a jungle hike! Through some of the Pico Bonito National Forest. Incredible. I ate a termite. I swam in a little pool right by a waterfall. I swam up to the waterfall and stood under it, while the water crashed over my shoulders. Scared me a little. I want to take some swimming lessons. The food at the Omega Lodge is unbelievable. Shrimp in garlic or coconut milk. Spaghetti.
RainbowRainbowRainbow

This is a shot I took from the inside of the minivan thingie. It had been pouring in the mountains.
Yummy garlicky green stuff. Whol,e wheat bread. Fresh jams--mango, maricuña (sp?), messenger pear. Fresh papaya, etc. Ohhh, and they had wine. We didn´t want to leave.
On the way back, stopped in San Pedro and checked out the Anthropology Museum.
This week. In Copan, I went to the Hot Springs (and got a little inebriated. split a bottle of wine with one of mi compañeros.), 5 course dinner at Hacienda San Lucas--where I met three people from NC!! I didn´t think I would be talking to fellow North Carolinians in Copan, but... There they were. Go figure, the couple was from Asheville. They were really cute and a little hippy-dippy. They were on their honeymoon. The bartender at the Hacienda was from Hickory, NC. She was a former peace corps worker. Yesterday I went to a birthday party with my spanish teacher and her son. It was her son´s cousin´s birthday. That was an experience. I got to pile into a tiny mini bus--a 12 seater--but there were about 18 of us in there. We rode about 15 minutes to Santa Rita de Copan. I think.

Anyway. Everythings great. Today there is an archaeology conference in the municipal building...
Relaxing at Omega LodgeRelaxing at Omega LodgeRelaxing at Omega Lodge

Check out the sunburn on my legs. Thats from our rafting trip. It was overcast and I thought that I didnt need to put sunscreen on my legs. Mistake!
in spanish. So I will be there much of the day. I have tons of ´homework´todo. I have to write 5 pg informe and tons of other junk. Im so busy.

Pictures!
love and miss you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Flowers!Flowers!
Flowers!

The Omega Lodge is surrounded by beautiful flowers, orange trees, lime trees, plantains, all sorts of other fruits.
Fredy with CicadasFredy with Cicadas
Fredy with Cicadas

We went to the associated site of Las Sepulturas. Fredy found a bunch of cicada shells. He put them all over his shirt and posed for me.
At Hacienda San LucasAt Hacienda San Lucas
At Hacienda San Lucas

Hanging out before dinner


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb