post honduras... independencia


Advertisement
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

hondurans celebrate national independence on September 15th. actually they kind of celebtrate it for the whole month but parades are on the 15th. our school was no exception. me and one of the other teachers Sean spent the week before making a dragon/mayan serpent head which was an ordeal, but we were proud of the the finished product and it made sure our school kicked the ass of the rival bilingual school.

i miss honduras already. in some ways it was wierd going back... my kids where that little bit older (between cute fun kids and adolescent nightmares), my friends have new things in their lives to keep them busy (such as boyfriends), different teachers, new reggueton songs, new houses and shops had been built and a lot more people had cell phones. but essentially it hadn't changed that much. everyone remembered the blonde girl they always shout "Charllliii" at in the streets. i could still buy water in bags, reggueton music is still the top favourite, the mountains, the heat , the dust, the storms, the beaming smiles, the bashed up yellow buses and crazy driving, endless friendliness and hospitality, the licuados... its all still there. that's what makes it Honduras, and thats why i'll go back sometime, hopefully not too far into the future.

Advertisement



13th November 2006

Amo Honduras
Sounds good- I can really relate to thethings you love about Honduras-I was just there this past summer in a little community in Lepaera, Lempira,and miss it terribly. I, also, have my hearts set on going back and hope that not too much will have changed, everyone there means so much to me. and o yeah I definately miss the "Olivia!Olivia" yelled at me walking down the road.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb