The big visa run


Advertisement
Published: March 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've been in paradise nearly three months now... which unfortunately means I have to deal with that pesky little visa issue. There used to be a guy on Roatan who would sort it out for you (i.e. stamp you for another three months under the table), but he no longer does it. So you can either go to Utila or I think still La Ceiba to get the stamp. Or you can take the 100 bucks you would spend and go see Belize. Which is what I chose to do!

So heres my great big backpacking adventure of Central America... done in the span of two weeks. I got offered a job bartending on Roatan, and I've decided to take it, so they want me back beginning of April to start. I've also decided to stick around and do my instructor course in May, which is why I havent just left to do a proper backpacking trip.

Day 1: Wednesday (Roatan-La Ceiba)
Tuesday night I got talked into staying Wednesday night, so I went to bed late and decided I wasnt going to catch the early morning ferry, id leave on Thursday. Then I woke up on Wednesday and realized I really do need to leave the island. So I got the afternoon ferry with Alice and her boyfriend (who incidentally stole my hostel job in Trujillo, but its ok since I got the bartending job instead). So the three of us are walking down West End road, trying to flag down a taxi, and they all want to charge us 20 bucks for the 3 of us. Now I realize we must look like tourists, since we have all our luggage with us, and look like dirt backpackers, but in no circumstances would I ever pay 6 dollars to get to the ferry. Its 50 limps, or 2.50, from west end to Brick Bay, which is past the ferry. Alice and I are just like what a bunch of wankers, trying to charge us that. We even told all the taxi drivers that we know its only 50 limp, sometimes when you are like really, its not such and such a price, they sigh and say yes ok you´re right. So we decide that the next taxi that stops, we will say we are going to brick bay, and then just make him stop by the ferry. But then a nice guy with a pickup stopped and asked how far we were going, and said hop in the back. He even drove us down the road right to the ferry terminal.... so nice!

Anyways got to La Ceiba, and we realized that we had some other friends on the boat as well, and I thought oh sad, for the next two weeks I wont be running into people I know. Left Alice and went to the mall to buy a new camera... La Ceiba was crazy. After living on Roatan for three months, where theres one road, maybe four stop signs, and barely any traffic, it was quite a freak out to be in a proper city again! The roads had at least four lanes!

Stayed in a nice hostel by the sea, and just kinda walked along the beach and around the area. To be honest, not too impressed with Ceiba actually. My cabbie ripped me off because I was 3 limps short (mind you thats 15 cents American) and he didnt have change for a 500, so he drove me around the block to the gas station so i could get change and then he charged me 20 limp for that (a dollar). But 20 lempira is a lot of money! It buys a beer! anyways, not impressed. But I did have a great chicken dinner, so that kinda made up for it.

Advertisement



25th March 2009

finally...an update
Your friends at Freedom House thank you for the update. We have missed hearing from you! You are never coming back are you?

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0838s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb