Kayaking and Diving in Honduras


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Northern » La Ceiba
December 1st 2005
Published: December 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sunset in UtilaSunset in UtilaSunset in Utila

Great sunsets from the pier in Utila....this is the time when live starts in Utila
After the Hurricane in Honduras...it kept on raining for a couple of days. I decided to start my diving course anyway...and guess what... I was lucky. The weather cleared up and the diving was cool. Especialy my dive to one of the shipwrecks was real cool! Down there on 30 meters there was not much of marine life, but my eyes couldn't stay a way of the ship anyways.
Besides diving the only thing to do on Utila is get in to the nightlife and so it was the Tranquila bar for me and my fellow divestudents and travelers. Nice Island, but after 6 days I had seen it and was ready for some real action.
Since I was in New Zealand 2 years ago, I wanted to learn some white water kayaking. In Kiwiland I signed up for a class, but the lack of money would stop it there. Not that it is realy cheap here..cause you pay for good guides, but I decided to do it anyway. 5 days of pooltraining, rafting, peddal an inflatable kayak and the real thing, kayaking the Cangreagal river. It were 5 awesome days with a lot of action and a lot of holding
Lazing in a hamocLazing in a hamocLazing in a hamoc

I did 3 days of diving on Utila, and after doing my advanced open water diving course, it was time to relax on the beach
your breath. Once I was under for 25 seconds in a rapid, bumping with my head the rocks while laying upside down...but that is part of it to and my guides were there when I needed them.

Honduras is Great...but gonna catch a bus down to Nigaragua now!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Action time with Omega toursAction time with Omega tours
Action time with Omega tours

After 6 days on the Island, I went to Pico Bonito national park to start a 5 day white water kayaking course. On day 1 and 3 there was a bit of rafting as well
Kayaking RocksKayaking Rocks
Kayaking Rocks

A lot of training in the pool to learn the eskimo-roll.. but finaly I did it...and it even worked in the river too!!! Kayaking is awesome
My Kayak instructorsMy Kayak instructors
My Kayak instructors

Two wicked teachers, a Kiwi and a Canadian...had a hard time learning me the basics of kayaking...but it was..sweet-as!!
Rafting Class V on the Rio CangregalRafting Class V on the Rio Cangregal
Rafting Class V on the Rio Cangregal

Rafting class V is still fun...but wanna learn it in a kayak as well


3rd December 2005

Zwolle
He man, Zwolle is ook erg mooi nu het winter is. Ach, eigenlijk altijd wel. Je geniet vast wel! Nog zo'n 6 weken en dan ga ik LA es bekijken. Laat me weten als je richting N-Amerika komt! Geniet en groet van Rob en Job
6th January 2006

Omega Tours and Utila
Hola! My friends and I traveled with Omega Tours through the rapids as well, and the guys that led us through the rapids were full of life as well as crazy! They let us jump off some cliffs into the rapids below and I believe that the Canadian in your picture rescued my friend:) Utila is also one of my fav night diving spots:)

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 19; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb