In the Game


Advertisement
Published: August 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Travis the GeckoTravis the GeckoTravis the Gecko

I've also just realized that I don't know how to spell Gecko. Anyhow, here is our little friend trying to escape the flash of my camera.
Alright...I was all over it tonight. I actually got into the game. I tried to Settle Catan, but it was to no avail. I'll have to get some experience in. I just settled places that looked pretty. Apparently not the best strategy. Fun none the less.

So, we've decided against the goat named Shakira. We feel like it would be too much work. I think that I'm going to get a hermit crab for my class. Yay for teaching responsibilty. I'm going to let my class name it as well. Hopefully it goes better than last year, when the Head Start class tried to name our pet fish, "food".

We do however, have a semi-pet at the house. Although senor frog visits from time to time, we have discovered a permanent resident. He is a gecko and his name Travis (we pretend its a boy, we're not really sure of the sex however. if any one knows how to determine the sex of a gecko, feel free to leave a comment). Travis lives by our kitchen light and eats the bugs. I tried to take a picture, but the little bugger is fast.

I stayed at school today until five trying to decorate my room. We have no letter stencils or yard sticks, so its a miracle that you can actually read the letters I cut out. Still a little bit overwhelmed, but I met the mother of one of my students today. She is very sweet and she is also the music teacher at the school. It makes me a little nervous teaching the child of a fellow teacher. Well, on the optimistic side, maybe she'll have great ideas for the classroom 😊 Ms. Bright Side.

We have eight hours of inservice tomorrow, so I think I'm going to turn in. I'll try to post pictures today or the next day of my semi-decorated classroom.



Advertisement



25th August 2006

Fish
Jenna, you didn't mention the other "creative" names the children came up with for our fish! :) and... you forgot to mention that one child knocked the fish tank onto the floor which broke and we were still able to find the fish ( which took awhile) , pick it up with our hands, find something to put it in, and SAVE the fish!! :) Yeah, what a team!!
26th August 2006

I want the Gecko
I could use a little lizard that would eat the bugs at the farm house!! There are all kidn of little critters that he could make a meal on and I would be very appreciative. Kaija and I named her goldfish "Bait" this summer. It didn't last very long...only 2 weeks. It was too hot for the little thing, I think.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb