Beans Beans Beans


Advertisement
Published: August 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Soccer GameSoccer GameSoccer Game

Sarah and I yesterday at the Hispano vs. Montagua soccer game. We figured everyone else was taking pictures of us, so we might as well take a picture of ourselves. Final score 0-0.
Before anything else, I have to state my profound respect for elementary school teachers out there past or present. I spent eight hours today doing lesson plans for the next two weeks and I'm still not finished. Planning eight different subjects so that they have some overlap, aren't mind numbing, and keep the kids engaged is exhausting. And I haven't even met the kids yet, so who knows if they will even be relatively close to the pace that the class moves.

Head Start part year employees went back to work today. I really miss my old job. We'll have to see how much learning through play I can integrate into my 5th grade classroom 😊 Either way, I should be done with my lesson plans tomorrow and I've already decided that I am going to walk myself over to the mall and get some cacahuate/caramel/chocolate ice cream. Even though I walk everywhere and the school is about 20 minutes from our house, I'm sure I will still manage to hang on to my pudge, not to worry. At least they don't have my dad's monster cookies here 😊

Speaking of food, I found out another great thing about living with a group of new people. New Recipes! My new favorite food is Curry Bean Soup. They have all the ingredients here and its easy enough even for me to make. I can throw it in my rotation of beans, rice, cheese, tortillas, and popcorn. I thought I would include the recipe. A very special thanks to Sarah for introducing me to her recipe/accident.

Curry Bean Soup
1 can kidney beans
1 can black beans
1 can garbanzo beans
1 can water
curry powder
(boil the 3 cans of beans and a can of water until it starts to thicken. Add lots of curry powder. The End. Curry Bean Soup. Tastes great with tortilla bits too. mmmm...)

That about does it for news from Honduras. I going to go check to make sure our frog friend is not in the living room again and then its off to bed. Pleasant dreams everyone.



Advertisement



22nd August 2006

Sweet... I'll eat anything if there is curry on it!
23rd August 2006

You're Very Welcome!
Quite an easy recipe, but I'm very glad to share it. :)
23rd August 2006

mmm...i'm eating leftovers right now!

Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb