Super Star


Advertisement
Published: August 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

WasherWasherWasher

What you can't really tell from this picture is that the washer is outside in our back yard. Classy.
This morning I woke up at, what I like to call "the ass crack of dawn" (mom, cross that out before copying it for grandpa and nanny). For some reason unknown to me (except for the fact I slept until like 4pm yesterday or the dogs barking or the roosters or the geckos between our ceiling and roof), I woke up at 6:15 this morning. But I was able to get quite a bit done in the morning before going to the soccer game. I washed two loads of laundry and went grocery shopping. The check out guy at the grocery store gave me a ticket to fill out and stick in this bucket to win a free car. I was excited but asked if I had to be a citizen. Apparently that was a ridiculous question. You do not have to be a honduran citizen to win a car. Who knew? Maybe the Bush administration should take lessons from Supermercado Jumbo (the grocery store). Oh I forgot, on my way to the grocery store, I heard someone shouting from a couple blocks away. Not all that unusual, as men usually shout how much they love me or how beautiful I
DryerDryerDryer

Works very well if it's not too windy or rainy.
am at least once or twice every couple blocks (good for the self-esteem, but annoying as all h-e-double hockey sticks), but this person was shouting "TEACHER, TEACHER". Turned out it was the guy that sold us our sketchy soccer jerseys. Just wanted to say hi but didn't know my name. Generally, I think that if you are white, female, and living in Comayagua, people assume you are a teacher at Escuela Bilingue Honduras.
In other excitement for the day, we went to the soccer game at around 3. It was so hot that Sarah and I literally burned our bottoms on the stadium seats. It was quite uncomfortable. Even more uncomfortable were the people asking to take our pictures. And also those who didn't ask, like the press!!! Don't think I could be a celebrity. I would injure the paparazzi. That aside, we can't wait to get the newspaper tomorrow to see if we made it in there. There were however, a ton of cute babies there that were very entertaining. And minus the firecrackers that nearly busted our eardrums, it was a good game.
All of the teachers that went away for the weekend are back at the house which makes me feel better. I don't know what happened but I feel like I am constantly worrying about everyone's safety. Too much reading the paper. Maybe its better just to be oblivious. But Kari said the lake and waterfall near here were absolutely gorgeous. And Jill said it was like the best 30 minutes of her life hiking behind the caves. So I'm definitely putting that on my list of things to do. Anyone who would like to come to Honduras to accompany me is invited 😊 On a final note, the French teacher from France, Julie, arrived this evening. Very excited about that, although it sounded like she had quite the multi day journey. Maybe I can pick up a couple languages while I'm down here 😊 Anyhoo, I am off to bed. Have to get up early to go to school tomorrow. Buenas Noches everyone. I miss you.
P.S. Senor Frog visited us again tonight. I coaxed him out with the rake. Poor little guy, it was raining outside, but I didn't want to wake up to that tomorrow morning so we had to part ways.

Advertisement



24th August 2006

couple of languages?
Shoot child, I am still working on the first language, but then there is the southern version and the midwest version and they do not mix. It is great having John and Connie from Alabama volunteering at the center this summer. They sound normal to me. (smiles, did you notice I cleaned up the "shoot"?) Missing you!!!!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb