Halloween Fun


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Tegucigalpa
November 19th 2009
Published: November 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been slacking on my blog lately. Clearly I'm almost a month behind!

Halloween was a lot of fun. This was different from my previous year in Honduras, as my last school didn't celebrate Halloween and most of the country also doesn't celebrate, as there is a large population of Catholics and Christians here who believe it's a holiday of worshiping the devil.

Lucky for us, this school makes a big deal of it (although some of my students didn't come to school that day as their families don't celebrate) and there was a Halloween parade at school. All the students came dressed in their costumes and we had a parade in the afternoon, followed by snacks in the classroom.

While trying to decide what to be for Halloween, I came across a piece of white curtain material for sale at the mall. In the same store I found gold-painted leaves for Christmas, and decided I could make a good cheap costume for being a Greek Goddess. I also bought extra leaves so Walter could match for the adult party on Halloween night.

Saturday night there was a party at one of the houses up in the mountain where 4 teachers live together. Tons of Honduran friends were invited as well as all many teachers from school. Walter had asked me days before what he should bring for his costume and I told him sandals and white underwear 😉
When he arrived Saturday, he had borrowed perfect sandals from a friend, brought gold ribbon to make straps on the sandals that went up his legs, as well as other gold accessories. He was more excited than I was! So cute!

The party was a lot of fun. First, Sarah, Jimmy, Pam, Libby, Bryan, Walt and I all went over to Kallie's apartment for some drinks and photos. Next we went to the party and had a very enjoyable night with friends. Great photos too!




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Greek God :)Greek God :)
Greek God :)

Walt was more into it than I was!
Meet the FlinstonesMeet the Flinstones
Meet the Flinstones

Sarah and Jimmy as Wilma and Fred
Finishing TouchesFinishing Touches
Finishing Touches

Kallie paints Pam (Mother Nature)
Devil vs. AngelDevil vs. Angel
Devil vs. Angel

Libby and Bryan
Oh HalloweenOh Halloween
Oh Halloween

Mike (tourist) and Mavis (cat) are my fellow Canadian teachers.
LocalsLocals
Locals

These guys are friends of Sarah Tepsic's finance. LOVED the midget costume!


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb