First Days of School


Advertisement
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Futbol!Futbol!Futbol!

Kallie (teaches elementary art), Libby (teaches gr. 1), and Pam (teaches gr. 5) ready for some futbol!
The first days of school have been interesting ones.

This past Monday and Tuesday classes were canceled in thoughts that buses and students coming through town may be affected by the manifestations in the city, as the 6 day peace march was to end that day in Tegucigalpa.

Tuesday, the staff were all called together for a meeting to tell us of the safety precautions that the school was taking. We had an evacuation plan in case our school is taken over by a mob. We talked about the "mob drill" that would take place Thursday as a practice. We talked about people who were watching over our school to keep us posted, as the school in en route from the President's residence and some kind of ministry of something downtown. We don't anticipate any attacks on our school but they thought we would be careful JUST IN CASE, which is good.

Tuesday night we heard of protesters close to downtown, who had set fire to a bus and a fast food restaurant. Please rest assured that although you may hear about these things in the news, I have been nowhere near where they have been taking place.
Futbol on the big screen!Futbol on the big screen!Futbol on the big screen!

Watching the game and drinking some Salva Vida :)
It's like I am living in a bubble and the school, and to be honest, I like the bubble right now, as it makes me feel safe.

Wednesday school started. I met all the children in my 2nd and 4th grade classes. I fear that I will NEVER remember ALL of their names. The first day was busy because I was hopping back and forth between both classes - trying to show my presence as a homeroom teacher for both, and having them understand that I knew how the discipline would work too. My favourite moments? Having the kids write interesting facts about themselves with no name on it, crumpling the papers up and having a "snowball fight", then picking up the paper next to them and trying to find the person whose interesting facts they now possessed. That and teaching the 4th grade about how we'll be running community meetings every week was great.

After we survived day 1 of teaching, a bunch of the teachers decided to go out with Sarah T's fiancee (not to be confused with Sarah K. who is married to Jimy and teaches 3rd grade) and a bunch of his friends to
GOAL!GOAL!GOAL!

Hondurans go crazy after the goals. I was going crazy too which was why each of my "action shots" were taken once most had settled!
watch the big Honduras vs. Costa Rica soccer game. We had to be careful where we went, as we heard of more rioting and looting that was happening downtown. We decided on a place called "Wing Factory" which is very close to our houses.

I forgot how much fun it is to watch soccer with a bunch of Hondurans. Every 30 seconds someone was swearing at the giant screen we were watching it on. The ref had some horrible calls against Honduras right from the beginning, so the 2 goals that should have counted did not. Costa Rica was favoured to win, as they are currently leading in our division but Honduras pulled out 1 goals in the first half, another in the 2nd, and then 2 more within the last 5 minutes of the game. It was an exciting game and was great fun for all of us.

Today (Day 2 @ school) was a little more relaxed, as we got into our real schedule and I had some time for planning. I started the day with the 4th graders and was VERY happy with their behaviour and discipline. Apparently practicing procedures the day before worked well.
HONDURAS WINS!HONDURAS WINS!HONDURAS WINS!

Honduras - 4 Costa Rica - 0


Classroom routines was not so easy with the 2nd graders. I had flashbacks to my class in Comayagua and wondered how I would survive the year. Gisela (my co-teacher for this class) and I decided to implement more positive and negative reinforcement strategies in the classroom. We'll see if this helps.

In the afternoon, we started hearing helicopters flying around the school. Apparently this was embassy copters, keeping an eye on the situation with the protesters, and ensuring the safety of our school. It was slightly nerve racking, yet also reassuring at the same time.

Tonight I did some planning, and am hoping to get to bed early, as my sinuses and horrible and I fear I am coming down with a head cold!

More updates to come soon 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

All SmilesAll Smiles
All Smiles

Sarah T, myself, and Kallie after the game :)


14th August 2009

Got into Private
Hi Sarah I am into the private section and able to read the blogs. I have my own account setup and your blogs show up on the right hand side of the screen as recommended reading. Have fun and stay safe..... enjoy the weekend.
14th August 2009

Sounds like a great start to the year! I hope you'll have fun with the 2nd graders and 4th graders - big difference between them I bet (I'm teaching Gr. 5 myself this year)! Enjoy...and I'm glad to hear that you are safe and away from all the trouble.

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0863s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb