Should I Stay or Should I Go?


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
February 22nd 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The last entry, I was feeling quite down obviously. It only lasted a day or two and I am feeling much better now. Which is why I titled this one the way I did. I just wanted to give the fam back home a little jolt. Gotcha! Of course, I know I'm always going to have those days where all I want is to see everyone back home. For right now though, I am definitely in better spirits. Not just because of all the love everyone sent my way form back home, which was amazing by the way, thanks. I solved my homesickness the way any real Canadian female should. I got some retail therapy in.

I went to the mall and spent more money in one hour than I have the entire two months that I have been here, combined. I am sure that I could have found things cheaper elsewhere, but the thought of having to go to all kinds of individual shops was way behind me at that point. I got a whole bunch of new clothes for school. What I should have got was more clothes to go out in. I am most certainly lacking in that department right now. But, hindsight is 20/20. It did the trick. I have felt fine ever since the shopping extravaganza. Although, hopefully I don't get homesick too often...because that could get quite expensive.

This weekend was good. I guess I may as well come clean. I have been talking to someone for the last month or so. It is something that I have been keeping very much to myself though. I just don't want everyone knowing my business around here. People tend to talk when they have no business doing so. So, to avoid any and all of those problems, I have been keeping it pretty hush hush.

His name is Doniel. Things are going really good with him. We are not dating or anything like that. We just enjoy each others company and tend to hang out on the weekends together. Surprisingly, I am not sick of him and haven't found any weird quirks that make me want to run like I normally do. I actually haven't even thought of it. Time will tell though. As of right now, we are just getting to know each other and I am really into him. He is so smart and I truly enjoy the conversations we have. We can talk politics, religion, books, anything and everything. It's really nice to have that here. He has a great personality and I know that everyone back home would get a kick out of him. So, that has been my undercover operation for over a month now. Ahh, I feel better just getting it out.

The kids were incredibly horrible Monday, Tuesday and pretty much Wednesday as well. But Friday, was a great. not just because it was Friday and I had the weekend coming up. They were back to their normal awesome selves. I am dreading tomorrow though. I am really hoping it isn't another repeat of the beginning of last week. I will lose it!

I talked to the director of the school on Friday about how things were going at the school and how I liked it in Comayagua. He wanted to know my thoughts about next year. I have been going over and over it in my head. Should I stay or should I go. But I have finally made the decision. I am staying. Honduras will be my home for at least the next 18 months. The director asked if I wanted to change grades, but I am staying right where I am. Grade 1 is exactly where I want to be.

It's nice that I have made the decision and I feel like I can settle in even more now. Because I came halfway through the year, I don't feel like 6 months is enough time to really get to know a place. Nor is it enough time to learn the language and really experience the culture. Plus, I am not going to lie...the weather is unbelievable. I would be a fool to leave so soon. Who knows where the next 18 months will lead me, but I am sure that it is going to be something great.






Advertisement



22nd February 2009

STAY! STAY!
We all knew you were going through the home sick stage of your adventure!It is nice to here you have made a new friend and am looking forward to hearing more of that and of course a picture!Yes I am like your grade ones I like the books with visuals!!!!Glad you pulled a Lyette!Retail makes it all better!You will be happy to know we were well enough to hit walmart today...well your mom was just a little off the marker but she fared through!Hee Hee!!!So you not only made it past the home sickness and the hide a friend but you also let out in one breath my biggest fears OMG NO JANET FOR ANOTHER 18 MONTHS!I am sure I shall need some retail therapy now!!Love you lots!!!
23rd February 2009

very funny
Yes i must say you had me going in the first few lines, there is no way your allowed back home........ Atlilio read your blog and was a little surprised that your not comming home sooner, so im just giving you a message from him ' tell her to come home and bring the Mexican with her" I think he means your ' were only friends" yeah that one. Oh Jay so funny so you "you guys would really like him line" and thats why we love you so damn much.
24th February 2009

Haha thanks for pointing out my so called line! You guys are too much. I guess Atilio would've lost the bet on when I was coming home then huh lol. I will be home for Christmas though, so that will be nice. I have a couple weeks off and will be spending it with all of you guys! As for this summer with my 2 months off I have decided to travel around and visit the other countries. By myself. That's right...I am venturing out of Honduras this summer and will be stopping in Guatemala, Belize, Nicaragua, El Salvador and who knows where else. Wherever the wind takes me apparently. I am presently mapping out locations and hostels to stay in. But tell Joss not to worry, I will make a pit stop back in Comayagua when she comes for a visit :D
24th February 2009

Don`t worry Julie!! I will be back home for Christmas. As if I would miss that party..come on! So although I may not be living in Canada for the next 18 months, you will still get to see me. Love ya!
27th February 2009

Man am I psychic or what. I have been saying from about the 3rd or 4th blog that you were not coming home. You seem to love it there so much. Now who knows with Doniel in the picture you may never return. I know your mom is going to kill me for saying that and others as well but I have to. Again Janet you are an inspiration to me and I am so glad you are having the time of your life doing something that some of us can only dream about. YOU GO GIRL!
13th January 2010

Experience and Knowledge is powerful, so achieve both over there. Luv Ya
I didn't realize that you were in Hond...It is certainly great to hear something about you. Your Mom sent me theletter you wrote on Facebook and the Pic to the places you have travelled to....GREAT... Miss You but Love you even more to know that someone in the family is travelling.....Don't make this the last time you do travel, and remember Janet you can always come home.....
13th January 2010

Hi Janet! Yes, I was in Honduras for quite a while. I went home for six months and taught preschool. Now, I am back to teaching first grade and living in Guatemala this time. I've only been here a week, so things are still pretty new. So far, it's been a bit bumpy...butt hings are getting better. Be sure to let my father know why I haven't been writing at all. Central America is pretty far to send letters from. Plus, they take a couple months. Thanks for thinking of me ;)

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb