Missing my family and friends :(


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
February 17th 2009
Published: February 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was kind of a rough day for me. Actually, I was trying to be optimistic yesterday, but to no avail today. The last two days in general have been kind of rough on me.

I have been here almost six weeks and although things are going great, today was just one of those days. One of those days when all you can think about is your family and friends. I miss everyone back home. I miss seeing their face and laughing with them and just being completely free. Although of course I am free here, it will never be the same way as when you are with your family.

The kids have given me a run for my money the last two days and I am not sure if that is adding to the problem or if it's just in my head. Maybe they are not being any different and it's just me. I am really not sure. I think I could just use a good hug right about now. I wouldn't say that I am homesick or anything to that extent, but missing my family and friends is definite.

Yesterday I went to the gym with Annie and Katie and it was great. It really helped me get my mind off of everything. We did an intense step class with weights for an hour. I could barely breath let alone think about home. I have signed up for the month, so it will be good for me. Although, I walk to and from school and around town pretty much everyday. I guess another few hours of exercise never hurt anyone.

I am really worried about one of my students. He hasn't been to school in over two weeks now. He was already a little behind everyone else, now he is way behind. He contracted Hepatitis somehow. It's most probable that he got it from the water. Him and his younger brother are both in the hospital and have been for the whole two weeks. I really hope he comes back soon. Not just because he is going to have a hard time catching up, I just miss seeing him in class. We all made him get well cards and got them sent to La Paz, the city where he is hospitalized. Hopefully that will make him smile.

One of the teachers has Dengue and another teacher had to go back home to the States because her Grandfather is very ill. She will be back soon hopefully though. Oh and one of my roommates is moving out, today I believe. I wasn't here and so I don't really understand the dynamics of whatever has been going on. All that I know is that I get along with everyone here and haven't had any problems at all. I hope that he will be happier now that he will be moving. Although, it's sad that it had to come to that.

So all in all, I think everything may have added to why I am missing my crazy family and friends right now. I could just use a good Timmies with the ladies and a beer and bash with Brandy. I know that it's just a bump in the long road of my Honduran living. I know that all of this will get better soon and I will be just fine. But right now, I don't mind just feeling a little down and missing everyone back home.



Advertisement



21st February 2009

Homesick
I wish I could just jump on a plane and give you a big hug and smuggle Brandy along for a big beer bash!!!We all miss you very much!I think you have just come to realize that your vacation is over and this is now your home!Don't fret family and friends will be visiting you soon!So kick yourself in the ass and get back to being Miss J!!!!It is the weekend so I hope you are having a blast!!!LOTS OF LOVE!XOXO
22nd February 2009

cheer up
We send so much love your way, and the ups and downs go away, I wish that you were here also , things will get back to normal again, and yes baby its called homesick no matter what word you want to put in its place.its normal because we are so close to you , all our love goes out to you and even the neighbors LOL BIG RICK sends a special hello how u doing hug.
27th February 2009

So you miss the crazy people you surronded yourself with? That is a good thing. Sorry I haven't checked out the blog in awhile but I had been checking and there was nothing for awhile that I just stopped checking. Now I have got a lot to read. I am sorry that you are homesick and as I am writing this you are on a plane home to your crazy family and friends. I will for sure make a point to stop by and see you. Janet you better get to Brantford or Brampton whichever one it is well you are here to see your Brandy. After you get your fill of everyone you go back and be the best teacher those kids have had in a long time. I am sure they are going to be crazy when you get back from missing you so much.

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb