Connections to Canada


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Birthday Cards for ShaneBirthday Cards for ShaneBirthday Cards for Shane

I left the room to get more information for my students and when I returned 3 minutes later, I found them spread out on the floor, on a circle, sharing supplies
Today was a really good day for our class.

First were the Birthday Cards for Shane.

A little while ago my mom sent me an e-mail about a posting she had seen at the gym about a boy who was undergoing chemotherapy for leukemia and his only wish for his 8th birthday was to receive 35 million birthday cards, and break the world record.

I thought it was a cute idea but didn't give it much more thought. That was, until I saw the groups created on Facebook, and then did some research and found ALL kinds of websites dedicated to the cause. I couldn't believe it. I also started recieving messages from friends in Canada saying that their entire school board was taking place in the event. This made me excited and I decided to share it with my students.

I explained to them what Leukemia was. I drew pictures of "good" blood cells and "bad" blood cells on the board. I explained how the "good" white cells help our bodies fight bacteria and sickness; that the "good" red cells carry oxygen throughout our bodies; that the "bad" premature white cells (the leukemia) stop the
For a Very Special PersonFor a Very Special PersonFor a Very Special Person

Making cards for Shane
"good" cells from being produced and continue to multiply. I explained chemotherapy. I explained Shane's wish.

The students were dead silent. They were hanging on to my every last word. I told them to get their supplies, said I would be right back, and went to find out exactly how old Shane was turning on his birthday.

When I returned, the students had pushed the desks to the side, made a giant circle on the floor, and were sharing all of their markers, crayons, stamps, and papers. I almost started to cry right there and then. This was something they were passionate about. It meant making a difference in the life of another child and they were so eager to do so.

We took two periods to do this. We had completed about 65 cards. This was not enough for them. They stayed in the class at lunch, convinced the music teacher to let them continue through music class, talked to the administration about making it a school-wide event, made and hung posters around the school, and convinced most classes from 1st - 5th grade that this was something that they too should participate in.

I
Card FactoryCard FactoryCard Factory

Busy at work
didn't even know they had made posters or got other classes involved until I game back from my prep period and saw posters in the hall. I was so proud of them. The cards they made were so heart-felt as well. It was the first time I really saw my class come together as a community and work together so hard to have something accomplished.

Many of them have said that they will spend all weekend making cards. We send them off on Monday.

For more information visit www.shaneswish.com

Next were our letters FROM Canada. My friend Erin and I have been reading "Flat Stanley" to our classes. It's about a boy who is flatened by a bulletin board falling on him during the night. Suddenly he is 2D and goes on all sorts of adventures including a trip through the mail to visit a far away friend. There have been all sorts of websites and mail exchange programs built around this. Erin and I decided to jump on board. My class made flat versions of themselves way back in September and sent them off to Canada. Yesterday we recieved their flat people (complete with biographies) along
"God will save you...""God will save you...""God will save you..."

Their cards were making me cry.
with some pictures and a letter to the class.

My students were so excited about these. Today we took pictures with our new Flat Friends, to send back to Canada. This weekend each student will spend the weekend with their flat friend and journal all the fun and exciting happenings of the weekend that they shared. We'll then send the journals, flat people, pictures, and a few "Honduran things" back to Canada. Here's hoping it gets there before the end of the school year!

Overall a wonderful day with my children. When they are passionate about something, they really put their whole hearts into it. How can I make them care this much about their other projects??? Hmmmm....




Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

"You are the best, You!""You are the best, You!"
"You are the best, You!"

can't you just here the words being said? lol
Fighting the CancerFighting the Cancer
Fighting the Cancer

Don't judge the spelling ;)
"god will help you get better""god will help you get better"
"god will help you get better"

this student actually ripped a picture out of a novel of his that he's already read and "doesn't need anymore" to paste in a card for Shane.
A QuoteA Quote
A Quote

taken from one of our weekly quotes that we use in our class meetings.
"if you die I will cry a lot.""if you die I will cry a lot."
"if you die I will cry a lot."

Hard to read but one of my favourites.
Poster CampaignPoster Campaign
Poster Campaign

The students were really excited about this and started a poster campaign around the school to encourage other students to participate as well.
Our Flat FriendsOur Flat Friends
Our Flat Friends

Each student recieved a "Flat Friend" in the mail from my friend Erin's class in Brampton
Posing in Front of the SchoolPosing in Front of the School
Posing in Front of the School

Showing our Canadian friends what the front of our school looks like, as they did the same for us.
Friends From Across the WorldFriends From Across the World
Friends From Across the World

The kids were so excited to receive mail from Canada.


4th May 2007

thats really sweet of your students.. i need to think of something fun like that to do with my students.. although.. i have my doubts if they would do it or not.. hmm i will perhaps try tho.. we have "conversation" class so perhaps. :)
5th May 2007

COMPASSIONATE CREW
Who says you're not making an impact with these children? Remember these good days and value them always. It might help to tell your students that you never met your paternal grandmother because of leukemia. It took her life at an early age when I was only 14 years old. This just goes to show you how good to the core young children are. And you're going a long way in continuing to shape and influence their lives in a positive fashion. Well done, Boo. Keep up the good work. Love now and always, DAD XXX OOO.
5th May 2007

I am sitting here with tears streaming down my face after reading this blog - after everything you have been through with these kids - wow - how wonderful that they have taken to this cause so strongly. I am so touched. I am sure it has given you renewed energy to top off your year. I'm sure Shane will be thrilled to receive all your cards.Love Mom
5th May 2007

P .S.
The Shane websites are very informative and put together very well. Love, now and always, Godspeed Boo, DAD XXX OOO
5th May 2007

AMAAZING! That is wonderful and totaly inspiring. This girl (ie. me) will be making a whole bunch of cards tomorrow!
5th May 2007

Wow!
Wow! This story is so inspiring, Sarah. It is wonderful to hear about your students coming together for something that they care about - and then going above and beyond. Amazing. I definately think that your inspired method of teaching is having an impact and that your compassion is rubbing off on them :)
5th May 2007

Like your Mom Sarah I read this with tears in my eyes. I know from experience receiving the cards will brighten Shane's day. Even though the kids do not show it I am sure you have influenced their lives and they will always remember "Miss Sarah". I miss you and can't wait to see you in July. Love Auntie Barbara
5th May 2007

Sarah...how touched I am by your kids and their compassion for young Shane. For all your discipline problems....these are kids that really know what is important in life.
6th May 2007

well, others have said it but i'll say it again, i'm crying! you must feel so good after a day like this, after all the problems that you have with these kids, i hope you can remember this perfect day in a bit when you are about to give up....and remember what they did!! i love reading about what you are doing sarah, looking forward to more!
7th May 2007

Just amazing!
Sarah, Reading this just made my entire morning! I am sitting at work on my prep period and your pictures just lit up my face. You tell your kids that they have amazing hearts....I love that you did this with them and I love the energy that they put into it - the positive energy and caring that they put into this is a reflection of what you are teaching them. I am so proud of you Sarah! Miss you TONS hun!! xo Shawna
19th May 2007

shane cards
Hey Sarah! Just wanted to let you know that the cards for Shane idea is spreading across Canada because of you. I thought it was a great idea and let my Mom know about it because she helps out in my nephew's kindergarten class (in Calgary). She thought it was great and took the idea to the principal of the school and now all the grades are writing cards and letter to Shane. My nephew Jack was really excited that his whole school was doing something that started from his Auntie Monique but really I have to send on the praise to you for spreading the word. Thanks!

Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb