Hanging Out With My Students


Advertisement
Honduras' flag
Central America Caribbean » Honduras » Central » Comayagua
November 16th 2006
Published: November 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Facials!Facials!Facials!

The pics is fuzzy but you get the idea...
I love spending time with my students outside of class.

Tuesday, I was supposed to be tutoring French, but Angie and Gelda were sick, and Carmen never showed up. Carmen from MY class did show up though just to play and hang out with Sthephany and I. We ended up not doing French (since the other girls would then be behind) and did face masks instead. The girls loved it and we had a good time.

The funniest part was that when Carmen and I were washing off our faces (Sthephany was already done) Sthephany asks me for my e-mail address. I ask her why, and come out of the bathroom to see her filling out some online dating profile for me. Apparently she clicked on the ad that came up beside her e-mail account for a dating site. She had already put in my name, age, sex, preference, and country. She didn't even think it was funny. She said "no Mees, we will find you a boyfriend on the computer." lol... cute.

Today after school I went to Selina's house with Carmen, Marshall, and Selina. We had a great time playing with the animals. We spent more
Marshall and the KittenMarshall and the KittenMarshall and the Kitten

One of the adorable kittens
of the time though playing in the pool which was SO nice. I wish I had a pool in my backyard.

Tomorrow is half a day of school and then report cards go home in the afternoon and parents can stop by to chat with the teachers. That should be fun. lol... although they did think to give translators to those of us who need them. YAY!

Friday morning we'll be up BRIGHT and early as a bus leaves the school at 6am for Tegus. There is no school Friday, as there is a conference in Tegus for teachers. Apparently schools from all over Honduras are sending representatives. The conference is Friday and Saturday, so a bunch of us are spending the night in Tegus. I think Julie, Jill, Alisa, and I are getting a room at the Marriott which is where the conference is happening. Should be fun.

Here's hoping I learn something helpful for my classroom!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Students in the PoolStudents in the Pool
Students in the Pool

Selina's pool... SO refreshing!
Off the WallOff the Wall
Off the Wall

Selina jumping off the wall into the pool. EEEEK!
My BoyfriendMy Boyfriend
My Boyfriend

The students know how much I love Paulino, so they call him my boyfriend. I think he's trying to wink at me here ;)
Paulino and IPaulino and I
Paulino and I

Ummm, so where can I find me a pet monkey in Canada?
Mmm... AppleMmm... Apple
Mmm... Apple

Paulino has an afternoon snack. Oh ya, and he doesn't like the skin on the apples so spits that part out.
Best BuddiesBest Buddies
Best Buddies

Love the way his hand sits on my arms... so chill
View on the Walk HomeView on the Walk Home
View on the Walk Home

Lovely sky tonight. I am not usually out and about to see it at sundown. Just love this pic... the dirt road, trees, and sky


16th November 2006

differences....
it's so interesting to read about the differences there are between our culture and different cultures (like honduras). here in canada you'd never as a kid go over to your teachers house to hang out with them and go swimming and do face masks. there is nothing wrong with it, but it wouldn't be encouraged here. there it seems to be so normal. why do we have to live in a place where everyone is so paranoid about bad thi ngs, like teachers being inappropriate with their students an blah blah blah, know what i mean? sounds like you are still having a blast, can you belive how fast the time has gone?? keep having fun!!!
16th November 2006

SOME SCARY, EH WHAT?
I was through the text of your blog thinking theatrical masque before seeing the facials photo. YIKES . . . call in the ghostbusters. Can't wait for our visit to see you in your present surroundings and to scout out the countryside and see where you ply your teaching skills. Keep working hard. The results are paying off already. Keep impacting those students in a positive manner. These are life lessons they will retain always. Stay well. Love, now and always, DAD XXX OOO
16th November 2006

jelouse
I am soooo jelouse of ur monkey love lol
16th November 2006

Love the monkey!!
Hey hun, MISS YOU! I just love seeing your pictures! They are beautiful. That monkey is the best thing I have ever seen - TOO CUTE!!!! I also wanted to tell you that I love the pictures of you and your students - you are in your element and you are shining. Miss you hun...but know that you are doing what you were meant to do. xoxo. Shawna
17th November 2006

Awesome pictures and blogs
Sarah these last 2 blogs with all the pictures were fantastic. I would love to see the videos - please send them to me at work though. It is so obvious your students adore you. So glad you are happy and doing well. We are so looking forward to seeing you and meeting all your friends and students in February! Love Mom

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.2255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb