adios tortugas


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have now concluded my time in Roatan. Things that feel strange now that I am back home: using a phone/driving for the first time in three weeks, functional showers, eating a real salad, throwing out all my dead plants, being able to flush toilet paper, saying hello instead of hola, not waking up to the crystalline Caribbean, palm trees, and a tropical breeze.

My last day on Roatan included the tagging and release of a new turtle and some tasty red snapper and wine with friends. Make that lots of wine.

In total, I logged 39 dives on the island! I am so lucky to have been given this opportunity by my friend Noel, I hope to repay her someday with another adventure (I'm thinking somewhere with surf and/or hiking). She showed me the type of confidence and smarts necessary to successfully travel abroad (also a handy Spanish interpreter). There is no doubt that I have now been bitten by the travel bug, more so than ever before. The people I met in Honduras, native and not, were amazing, fun, and generous. Shout outs to the entire dive staff at Fantasy Island Resort, the Depth Perception dive club from Tampa, the salty sailing crew, the cool newlyweds Joey and Tess, and all the taxi drivers that thankfully did not cause my untimely death in a horrible car wreck! And please, cut the poor turtles a break, even though they may taste good (according to local knowledge), it is imperative that we become educated on the risks that these charismatic animals are facing and continually support their preservation throughout the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb