The jungle


Advertisement
Guatemala's flag
Central America Caribbean » Guatemala
November 5th 2015
Published: November 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So time to rock on to Guatemala! Everyone ive met raves about this country, so I bought my lonely planet and am ready for here!

We started in Flores, a lovely little Island connected to Santa Elena. We tried the Guatemalan street food and I have to say beats Mexican food!!

Then it was off to Tikal, Mayan ruins in the jungle. We spent our first night in the jungle during sunset, we saw toucans, howler monkeys, bats, many different birds, which I cannot name. It was beautiful until the sun went down and the mosquitoes ate us alive!! Yes I have been eaten from head to toe and its always great to know there is malaria in a region after visiting the jungle!! But apparently not for 2 years, shame my jungle bug spray burst in my bag!!

The next morning we got up at 4am for sunrise. This is by far one of best things ive done on my trip so far. We walked in the dark with our head torches again being eaten alive. Listening to the sounds of howler monkeys and the jungle awakening!! We then sat on one of the temples to watch sunrise, however the sun did not appear but this did not matter it was amzing! I expected so many tourists to suddenly rock up but there must have been 40 people maximum in the jungle! We then went on a trek through the jungle to see the Mayan sites and more wildlife.

I totally recommend this archaeological site, not only for the ruins and History but for the wildlife, there's so much jungle to explore and you will feel all on your own a lot of the time! Just gutted I didnt see a jaguar, maybe some place else......

So after Flores its time to travel Guatemala for some more for a couple of weeks, starting tomorrow on the chicken buses!! Then I have decided I will learn some spanish and do some volunteering here. Im ready to stay in one country for a bit of time and I like it here.



Adios amigos


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb