Up River on the Rio Dulce


Advertisement
Guatemala's flag
Central America Caribbean » Guatemala
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I took a launch up the Rio Dulce from Livingston enjoying the scenery in the gorge used in the first Tarzan movies. I could hear the chatter of the birds and elephants in the jungle. I peered along the bank to see if a tribe of Africans were watching my progress. But, alas all that was really happening was the hum of the outboard and native Mayans from an ancient civilization paddling their dugout canoes along the rivers edge. This was the true adventure.

As I rounded the bend and entered the Gulf I saw jutting out a beautiful Tower House sitting as a beacon right before the Texan Bay inlet. The house looked like the guardian of the gulf and was a beautiful hideaway inviting to a cruiser escaping from the bustle of American civilization.

I found this part of the river inviting with the potential of a dynamic social life. Inside the Texan Bay Marina that recently changed ownership, I found a host of Guatemalan locals drinking beer and listening to music as some expatriates watched American football scarfing nachos and beer. Other, cruisers showed up and sat on the veranda sipping a cool beer.

I continued up the river to the town of Rio Dulce which is a story for another day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0698s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb