San Pedro La Laguna


Advertisement

After the first few days of pissing around and getting drunk we began to get serious in San Pedro and find ourselves a Spanish school. Following in the footsteps of some of our best friends we sort out the Language hub, signing up for a week we moved into their rooms. Although a fun experience with great people, I smuggled to learn in that environment, there didn't seem to be a structure, planning, end game. Grammar was throw at me left right and centre and after every 4 hour session I would feel exhausted and angry with myself, on top of this I would dread sleeping in our room which smelt of damp and was filled with bugs. All in all it was time to move on. So we found a new school moved into a lovely hostel and started again. After a weekend of traveling friends birthdays, too much tequila and a bit of bed swapping, I dusted off my pen and began again. This time with support, structure and a fantastic teacher whom I discussed, cotiception, politics, birth, teen marriage, crupptuon among other subjects, and yes some in Spanish. A major plus point for this school was the opportunity to volunteer at a local afternoon English school. I had so much fun teaching the keen 5-10yr olds their alphabet, days of the week, months, and even colouring worksheets in to display on the walls, a highlight of my teaching experience was the Friday afternoon football match that we all played for almost an hour on a local pitch with lake views. Those last two weeks at the lake were a lot of fun! Learning salsa, drinking beer and speaking as much Spanish as I could. And so it was time to move on, and so to a shuttle, a massive game of jengar and tubbing.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb