San Pedro


Advertisement
Published: December 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have a new favorite sport: watching Mayan kids chase hippies. The realization came when two granola munching burnouts were trying to pick fruit to supliment their "living off the land" lifestyle, forgeting, as hippies do, that the actual owners would like to live off the land as well... anyhow the local 12 year olds were having none of their "you can't OWN the trees man!" argument, and so chased them over the property line. I dug it. Mostly because this place is overrun by hippies, and after only one day I grow weary of tie dye and the constant drone of drum circles.

I am in San Pedro la Laguna, where the 60s came to die.

Still, it feels nice. Most of the last 3 days were spent on the bathroom floor, so this is definate improvement. I'm still a little ill, but I am at least up and functional. The lake, ringed by volcanos and rolling hills, is absoltutely stunning, and is begining to lift my spirits.

Just for the sake of catching up: In Antigua I watched Satan burn in effigy from atop a firetruck, and took in a procession to honour the virgin Guatelupe, where they dress up little kids and paint mustaches on their faces for reasons I still cannot fully fathom.

Hope you are all enjoying the Canadian winter.
HAHAHA

Tim





Advertisement



18th December 2007

Your alive!
Yeah, like the title says, good to hear your still alive.

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb