Where rocks float!


Advertisement
Published: October 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

San PedroSan PedroSan Pedro

Where I stayed, at the foot of the volcanoe.
I'm not kidding about the rocks! When I arrived in the evening off the bus from San Crist. in Mexico I was standing on the lake shore waiting for a lancha to take me across the lake and threw a sizeable chunk of rock into the water only to see it bob back up to the surface a second after it hit the water! (they're volcanic and full of air of course)

So - Lake Atitlan. It´s stunning, A giant caldera with several internal volcanoes that stretch up to about the 3000m mark (above sea level - not the lake). I stayed in a small town called San Pedro which is on the opposite side to the main tourist town of Panajachel (which is a horrible place really). It's still very touristy in San Pedro too though and there seems to be a huge American expat community everywhere you go on the lake. I tried staying in one of the non-touristy places nearby but couldn't find anywhere to stay for less than US$35 so I opted for staying in San Pedro where I have my own room for just over a pound!

I spent about 8 days here, 5
CofeeCofeeCofee

Grows everywhere on the steep hills around here
days learning Spanish and found that at first I realised I actually new bugger all about Spanish but after my first lesson I had learned loads and the learning curve has just been incredible.

Outside of my lessons (4hrs/day in the afternoon - because it rains like clockwork every afternoon) I spent my time wandering around buying delicous bread/cake snacks off the local woman, kayaking and stuff like that. In the evenings I slipped into the habit of joining gringos in the bar for a few beers and a movie. Not exactly authentic travelling but fun nevertheless. Especially as I got to watch the Rugby final (tragic) with a load of other English people. One of whom it turned out I went to college with and another of whom is good friends with a good friend of mine (Kev). Small world.

I was planning to climb one of the local volcanoes but unfortunately the weather held me off. Still I did lots of paddling around the lake chatting to local fisherman in there boats, good for the old spanish.

I really don't have time to write any more about the place even though there's lots to talk
Life on the lakeLife on the lakeLife on the lake

It's totally silent in the middle of the lake. Definately a good place to just sit and relax.
about, like getting robbed in a market and losing my second debit card!! Nightmare sorting that one out. Anyway that'll have to be it for Atitlan I think.




Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Traditional DressTraditional Dress
Traditional Dress

Of course the younger folk are dressing less and less like this but most of the old folk stick with the old ways - including the men.
Offerings outside the church in ChichicastenangoOfferings outside the church in Chichicastenango
Offerings outside the church in Chichicastenango

The place where I got robbed. Despite a few nasty tourists lurking around causing a lot of offense the church here is beautiful inside even if it does choke you when you first walk in. People are everywhere kneeling in some sort of personal ceremony burning candles and making offerings. Even crying in places.
Busy market placeBusy market place
Busy market place

It was just outside here that inside a busy crowd I was robbed. Damnit!


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb