Guatemala.


Advertisement
Published: June 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I made it. Barely.

The plane rides were quite fun, I particuarly enjoyed being ABOVE the cloud layer, where the sky is the most amazing hallmarky shade of blue. I also got to see Aquamarine

The Flight to G. City was not the best. A small Guatemalan child thought it would be fun to attack my seat with plastic camels and scream bloody murder. Somehow, thought, we arrived and managed to fight our way through the masses of Guatemalan people to a tiny minibus. Do remember at this point that we had been flying for about seven hours.

They neglected to mention that the bus ride was FIVE HOURS. Even longer because we had to stop and eat

The thing about Guatemala? Everyone stares at us. Or, in the case of some of the males, they wave and/or leer suggestively. Luckily I've made friends with some guys and I can walk around with them. But I digress.

We made it to the Casa Catalan-and oh my lord. I ADORE my family. They are hilarious! I love them! The grandpa, by the way, is adorable, as is the youngest son, Javier. We embarrassed him by making him give us hugs and making him show us how to use el bano. Their house is really cool-there's the main part, with the room of Mariah and I, the room of Ashley and the kitchen. Then there's a little courtyard where we played soccer with Javier, and where Nala sleeps. Then there's another building where the other boys and Ally/Mona sleep.

And just so I cans say I told you so, Ally touched the showerhead and got a huge shock-Like she couldn't pull her arm away, y despues her arm kept vibrating.

So far I can understand EVERYTHING, which is a curse because people keep making me translate.

For eatings, Comi un sandwich de pollo en el restaurante. A casa, Sandra made us a "snack" consisting of frijoles, pan, y huevos. I also had peach tea. I've also learned to say "por favor" at the beginning of the sentence, not the end.

So this morning my family left at five in the morning to drive to their grandfathers house to set off fireworks. Since this Friday is Sandra''s birthday, he said he was coming over to set off fireworks at four. Sandra told us all about her family, and she wants to take us to meet them.

Must run. Require food and don't know how to find house again, hahah.

I love youuuuu and miss you. I was so homesick last night, lying in bed listening to roosters and crazy family members driving away at five...

More love. Will update later if not hit by car.



Advertisement



19th June 2006

I miss you
Hey Kelsey! I miss you and I hope you're having a good time, (ps: I've moved into your room and I threw all your stuff out the window...hope you don't mind) I want to hear more about your new family I miss you!
19th June 2006

Holy Frijole
We miss you too, (insert new spanish name here that we don't yet know about, but most likely starts with "k")! Now to be serious. DO NOT TAKE A SHOWER OR USE THE PLUMBING IN THE HOUSE WHERE THE SHOCK OCCURRED UNTIL a qualified electrician EXAMINES IT! A shock to the shower head as you describe CAN KILL. It is likely a symptom of a ground fault between the house's electrical system and the plumbing. I will email Ms. Owen, but please let someone know as soon as possible.
20th June 2006

What now
Hooray! Sounds like you're having fun! yay! ...we got held-up at work today by this ninja-dude. it was really scary! I'll have to tell you abouts it when you get back or somethings
20th June 2006

My comments are too cool for a title.
So I'm still really surprised that you'd never been on a plane before this trip. Because, you know, I've always thought, it's Kelsey... she's done everything. But apparently not. But anyhow. I hope you're having an absolutely fabulous time, my love. I'm slightly depressed because it seems that virtually everyone on the face of the earth is someplace else right now, or planning to be someplace else in the next couple of weeks. But that's okay because I have the internet. So bam Liana wins. You have to teach me all the good Guatemalan-Spanish slang words when you get back. You cabron you. <3
21st June 2006

Nostalgia.
Oy! I remember you! Do you remember the good old days, when we had english together every day except mondays? Wait, we learned nothing. But I bet you're learning now. Or maybe, since you had a better spanglish teacher, you aren't learning half as much as I would. But it's superbly awesome that you're in Guatemala, except that we can't hang out at all, which is sadness. I miss you - I'm spending all my time digging a fish pond (not fun) and learning to drive mis padres stickshift cars (also not fun, but getting better) and writing/drawing a bit. So yeah. That's what you're missing, in my life. Can you live with that? (I certainly hope so.)
21st June 2006

FIVE in the morning? UNPOSSIBLE. You should have taken that kids plastic camel and beaten him with it. I'm terribly sorry you had to watch Aquamarine. Why can't airplanes play good movies?
26th June 2006

Yum
I still don't care what you're eating there it will never beat our frosting and swoops s'mores. :)
28th July 2006

I forward the message I accidentally left on your previous entry instead of this one XD

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb