Montezuman and Murphy Battle it out.


Advertisement
Published: June 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey folks, been a few days of hanging in the rainforest. Its pretty wet there ya know and there are no computers, that actually work in that kind of humidity. 3 days there in Finca Tatin, which is a nice relaxing place with lots of bugs and animals to see in the forest, after 3 days my pack was growing is own white powdery face hair. We came from Belize and headed south instead of north. Passing through Punta Gorda, a quiet village south of Belize. A game of hackey sack in the sweltering heat drew an audience of kids. Deryn, my travel buddy, is a kid magnet, actually she is a guy magnet too but ill get into that later. The kids were fun they palyed with us for 2 hours or so. Then this rasta appreared out of no where and started chatting us up. Guy magnet. His name was King and one thing led to another and we found ourselves in his original art shack and preparing a meal of warrior caliber. Plaintain, bananas, potatoes, garlic and onions, with hand grated coconut milk. I tried to help but cut myself with the knive. Smooth. Good thing I took first aid and had a kit. It could have been worse but I survive still. He is a real rastafarian who has extracted himself from the rat race and lives of a farm in the hills. We gave him some $$ for the food and Deryn bought a bracelet which he made while we ate. He had a lot to say about liveling a good and true to onesself lifestyle. By the end he was refering to Deryn as Queen, I think he liked her from the start. Most guys we need ask if we are married and then when she says No mi amigo. They are asking her to marry them. Guys are so predictable.

Next day rode a boat thru the rain to Livingston in Guatemala. The captain navigated around this huge anvail shaped black cloud which would have been something of a deluge to say the least. Good captain. We were barely in Livingston a few hours when this garifauna man named Paulo, started chatting with us. He has a very animated and comical way of talking and has a short story that made me laugh every time. We talked about reggae and ska and he told us he knew Jerry Garcia. Had to take it all with a grain of sand and a large glass of pruified water. He did convince us to let him show us the real Livingston, Deryn agreed and I was game. I had faith in this werid, intelligent man. Kind of reminded me of my old man the way he talks and jokes. He says that the policia do not like to mess with him cause he battles there power trip with his mind and they have no rebuttle. He is a wise man. The next day we found Paulo and he took us to this little coffee shop were we had coffee and played with this little 18 month old garifauna boy. I took some photos of Deryn playing with this boy and my heart ached, she is so good with kids. I can see her in a few years wit a few bambinos running around. She is a beautiful woman. So Paula came back after finding some french folk to join us on our quest. He took us on a 4 hour walk thru the many differ villages and communities. We had fresh coconut juice as a refreshment and then a paddle up the river in a cayuko, or dugout canoe. Talk about being close to the water. With 7 of us in the boat there was about an inch to spare between wood and water. All thru the journey kids would gravitate to Deryn and everyone said hello to us. There are some amazingly friendly folks in this world.

On the last night in Livingston I was to experience my first taste of Montezumas revenge, i guess it was only a matter of time and Murphys law. We left Livingston for Finca Tatin I am slowly getting used to the fact that bus rides can suck and boat rides are the shit. Buses - crammed and smelly, boats spacious and refreshing. Buses cant see anything when you are forced to stand for 3 hours, boats well you dont stand and you can see 360 views. The boat to Tatin was great and refreshing from sweating at the dock for 3 hours. There were white washed cliffs covered in lush green forest vines and all kinds of birds in the jungle. I was a little weak from not sleeping he night before and no nutrients in my system.

That was a few days ago and I am still battling the demons in my belly. I think I have lost 5 pounds but I have taken my antibiotics and feel a bit better at least until I eat again. I will visit a doctor or pharmacy tomorrow. i know it is chlora so a doc cant help me. I am at odds as to weather to stick it out or go home. I dont want to be a burden on Deryn she is being a great gal for hanging with me and teaching me spanish or at least trying.I dont want to cut it short just yet so i am going to hang tough and carry lots of TP. No worries be happies. Love you all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0377s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb