The enchanted pools.


Advertisement
Published: June 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SemucSemucSemuc

The best place on Earth?
Cant remember what happened in my last entry. I visited Flores in the North and went to Tikal, take lots of bug spray people. I look like an acupunture victim after 3 hours in the forest. Got some great photos of an anteater like raccoon animal eating bugs it was used to people or just didn´t care. The ruins covered in jungle were my favorite. It s very impreesive but very hot and wet past 10 am. Went back to Flores for another night at Los Amigos. Good food and great folks but make sure you get one of the thicker mattresses or you feel like you are sleeping in a tortilla.

Left there for Coban at 630am and got into Coban around noon. Nice place. The temple on the hill is a must see. It lends itself to amazing BW photos I wish I had my friend Brians camera. Or at least Briaan and his camera would be good too. The town is good, the markets and bakeries are plentiful. There is not much of a night life. Stopped in at El Coyote for 6 Bravha for 45Q. Funny to see the bartender/owner toting a pistol in his belt.
SemucSemucSemuc

The best place on Earth continued
And listening to Nickelback until the locals came in. Thank goodness for the locals. I didnt come 3000 miles to listen to Nickelback at volume 10.

This country of Guatemala is amazing. I went to a place called Semuc Champay and I havent seen a place so beautiful since Carmanah Forest, on Vancouver Island BC Canada. That´s on the west coast or the island for those of you who want to see something spiritual and amazing. Semuc is enchanted. We also swam through the Ka Ban caves near Los Marias, good place to stay if you want to be right by nature. With candles in our hands we swam through many different caves. I have been in caves before but nothing like this. It did get a bit chill after 3 hours. But is is well worth the 30Q to do the caving tubing package. Frederico is the guide and he is a humourous and beautiful man with a great way of life. We finished off yesterday by taking turns jumping off a little yellow bridge. highly reccomended just keep you arms at your sides. Now off to Antigua and then to Lake Atitlan.

Advertisement



18th June 2006

love your stories
Hi Deano, I love your stories and sense of humour. It's wonderful to hear about your adventures in the caves and rain forest. It seems you are truly taking in the spirit of life, I'm so happy for you. I also think you are very brave for swimming in the caves, weren't you afraid of slithery sea creatures below your feet? I swam in a pond fed by a waterfall on an island off Haiti and there were these very big fish swimming just beneath the surface. That just freaked me out, obviously they were not piranahs, thank god, but still ... looking back it's kind of freaky but at the time, I just loved swimming in the pond and being free. Looking forwawrd to hearing more about your trip. Lots of love from back home, Penny

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb