(I can't keep track of days!) - Antigua


Advertisement
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Slightly shivering in the Guatemalan mountains has been absolutely glorious. I highly recommend everyone hanging out in Antigua. It has a weird contrast between touristy schmultz and Central American lazy - you can wait 2 hrs for your craptacular meal - attitude.

We survived our overnight bus trip to Antigua without incident (to the guide's surprise). Our guide, Armando, has been fantastic. Though, he hasn't really been doing that much obvious guiding but he's a cool guy just to hang around. You know he'll get you from A to B (which I haven't always felt with other guides). Guides at particular sites will talk for 5 minutes in Spanish and then Armando will translate all of that into four words of English so I think I may be missing out on some info! Can't say I am learning much but I am having a wonderful time wandering about places randomly. Sensibly, Armando is trying to move to Australia. We get a new guide in a few days so hopefully the tone of the trip doesn't alter too much.

A lot of the good stuff has to do with being with a great group; however, this is about to change. Four people have left today, three of whom were fabulous, and two people have joined. (And I'm a little hesitant about the quality of the newbies but I won't judge too soon!)

I talked most of the group into taking a salsa class last night and it went really well. Even though we only managed to learn four steps it's four more than we knew a day ago. I've been constantly trying to find good live music with no success but we will keep looking so that we can try to put our four steps (or two steps in some people's cases) into action. There's a Brazilian girl in the group who is pretty good at salsa so she will hopefully keep teaching us a bit.

I had volcano-toasted marshmallows yesterday which is certainly a first. It was really kind of odd walking around in a barbeque for over an hour. Armando frazzled the hairs on his arm demonstrating how paper catches on fire when placed between rocks. It was hot. You really didn't want to fall over.

My brain just does not function in Central America so apologies for being boring! I have had great trouble sleeping until last night so hopefully I'll get my mojo back soon with more sleep.

I have a bus to Panajachel to catch.

Big hug!


TRAVEL TIP: Don't wear Nikes on hot volcanic rocks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0214s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb