(Approx Day 24) - Granada


Advertisement
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola!

It´s been a while ... And travelling has been continually very good. The concept of work is just so foreign and scary right now!

After being very proud of my excellent health while others have been dropping like flies, today has seen some very odd symptoms for me. The room has fortunately just stopped spinning and I can kinda type. Also good is that I haven´t seen any random blue dots for a while. But I wish that I was on any of the other computers in this Granadan internet cafe as everyone else´s is in focus whereas mine really isn´t which isn´t helping my nausea.

Anyway, quick run down of highlights ... Lake Aititlan in Guatemala was beautiful (classic volcanoes and a glorious & large lake) and the first time I think that I´ve been cool (in temperature not attitude, obviously) on the trip. There have been some nasty early starts after big nights´out (= 2 hrs sleep) but I seem to do better during a day the less sleep I have. We´ve only got one real shocker travel day left apparently which is good - especially if today is the beginning of me being unwell.

So Guatemalan travel became Honduran travel - another border where we didn´t even have to get out of the bus to cross. The guide just takes our passports (and cash) and reappears some time later and we´re off. So odd.

Honduras saw us get a new tour guide who is so so different to the last one. She does very little to calm anyone´s anxiety. It´s probably just a cultural thing but she seems so angry and panicked. I´m sure that if I could understand Spanish I would be blushing at the things she´s been screaming down telephones (we´ve had some problems with minivans not being where they were meant to be to pick us up - we don´t really care too much but she does, which is fair enough, it´s her job to).

I was very happy in Honduras. Had a day of being a free spirit with flippers: have snorkel will travel. Solo snorkelling was a bit scary but also very empowering. Nothing but fabulous fish within sight (until you hit a mass of nastyish jellyfish and have to turn around). Low point of Honduras was the tarantula that blocked my path to the hotel reception for an entire day.

Now in Antigua, Nicaragua (actually had to get out of the van with our passprts at this border - outrageous)! Got caught in our first downpour today - we´ve lucked out with the weather so far given it´s the wet season. While I was chuckling at the girl who´s Nikes disintegrated on the volcanoe it turns out that I think my hiking boots copped a beating too as I was sluching in very wet socks in the battering rain so my soles seem to have lost their integrity too.

Antigua is supposed to be a fabulous city but I´m just not feeling it. But obviously, blue dots mean that you´re not at your best.

Argh, really not feeling good ... Must bid you farewell.

Big hug to you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb