Guatemala, the adventure continues


Advertisement
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hola! I am falling in love with Guatemala - the weather, the people, the pace, not the food - another day of beans y tortillas. So far my only adventure outside that realm was at a cigar bar, run my an american - I managed to find some veggies - mushrooms y onions - but it was something different!

Instead of 4 hours in a classroom today, my teacher and i visited a macadamia farm about 30 minutes from the city. It was run by a crazy, slightly creepy, former San Francisco hippy. I learned much about the benefits and help my teacher collect them to take to ella ninas. The best part was that I actually understood the entire conversation - again, doing really well comprehending - speaking...a whole different issue. Thankfully Skylar will practice with me daily, but she has my level of patience.... so I may need to bribe her with left over (and well hidden) Halloween candy.

I took on el mercado today and did muy bueno! Negotiated my way down from 180 quetseles to 100 for Jackson's hammock (about $13 us dollars!) One vendedor told me he was impressed with my negotiating and that I was "duro pero bueno"...hard but good??? Relaxed en la casa today, watched the sunset, read a book - it truly is gorgeous here.

Last night I went out with a friend for her compleanos and had a bueno vez - lots of walking, talking, meeting folks from Canada, Japan, Costa Rica - we were quite the social butterflies (surprise, surprise) We ended the night in a terrible place called Reilly's -think frat boy irish pub filled with drunk touristas. We didn't mean to end up there, but we walked into the wrong place and were spotted by folks we met earlier in the night...what can you do?

After a muy relaxing dia, I am off to practice my new salsa moves.

Buenas noches amigas!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb