Adios Gutemala


Advertisement
Published: November 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a magical trip! My final day in Guatemala was fantastic. On Sunday, el mercado expands to include hundreds and hundreds of stands complete with fruit, vegetables, grains, flowers, herbs, fish, poultry,spices and more - the market triples in size. The stalls are manned by mayan women and young children all in traditional garb - the variety of colors, textures and smells was overwhelming. I purchased a number of strange new fruits and enjoyed most. Would have loved to buy a papaya but the smallest was the size of a fire-log.

I took on the market otra vez with great success. Even though I went back to my same guy, Juan, for another hammock, he still made me work for it. I ran into him later that night and he told me his little brother (hmm...maybe 15 yrs old) thought I was bonita and muy, muy alto.

On my way to meet friends, I wandered into a beautiful art gallery. FYI - I "wander" everywhere because I never looked at the map - decided it would be more fun to stumble onto places than search them out - got really interesting after dark. Anyway, this gallery - had phenomenal sculptures by Sergio de ...(I wrote it down somewhere) - the pieces were brilliant - huge marble dust and clay sculptures. While admiring the work, I was tapped on the shoulder and there was Tono, the Guatemalen Cultural Attache to Portugal. I met him a few days ago and enjoyed my first Cuban cigar with him (sorry Tony, didn't bring any back). He introduced me to the artist, along with a few other diplomats and artists - what a group to fall in with. Tono invited me to join the group and share a bottle of the delicious Guatemalan rum, Tocapa. I sat there with 3 artists, 2 diplomats and a guy who was either an attorney or photographer (perhaps both) and me. They offered to speak English, but I asked them to hable lento and I'd be fine. We had to speak English when they asked what I did. Raising funds for higher education is not easy to translate! We spoke of travels, the new guatemalan president, Bush and their love of all things beautiful. After I said my goodbye's and promised to return to Antigua soon, they set me free into the Town Square.

There was an impromptu play which I watched for 20 minutes, but was so exhausted from the previous two hours, I couldn't translate another word. I went back to a favorite place of mine, Sangre, where the owners speak English and the staff speaks only Spanish - so I can choose. Turns out, last night they were celebrating the construction of El Arco (pictures to come later). There was an outdoor performance in a ruined church, beautiful music by candlelight, followed by an amazing fireworks display. Not only did they shoot fireworks above our heads, 3 guys outfitted in metal cages with fireworks attached, ran through the streets yelling, clapping and shooting off fireworks. Gorgeous, fun, exhilirating and extremely dangerous!

I said goodbye to my new friends, danced until the club closed and got home at 2am - with plenty of time to pack and sleep before I was picked up at 6am...

I am certainly going back - Feb, March April??? Soon I hope - Nova (my sister) has already decided to join me...anyone else interested???

Espero que haya disfrutado de mis historias.

Tienes una bonita semana!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb