Day 3 - Guatemala


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Had a GREAT sleep in my new bed... after the bar ajoined to the hotel shut down that is. Much more comfortable, that's for sure.

This morning I booked a spot on the shuttle to Antigua for noon. Also changed a bunch of my money over to Quetzals (Guatemalan currency), then met up with James at the park. From there we got a taxi to the Macaw Mountain Bird Park (www.macawmountain.com). This place started as a rescue centre for many birds in Roatan that used to be pets but had been ditched. It's now grown significantly and moved locations to Copan. They house more than 100 birds. It is still a place where many people drop off pet birds that they can no longer keep.

Many of the birds are in cages but there was one section where they have a bunch of them flying around and they will sit on you. Got a great picture of me with 4 birds perched on me.

The park is also a coffee plantation where they grow, dry, and roast all their own coffee. TONS of coffee plants. The cafeteria smelt amazing too!

Afterwards, James and I said goodbye and I went to find some lunch before catching the shuttle to Antigua.

6 hour shuttle. James ended up being on it. He wasn't going to Antigua but it dropped him off on the way. The shuttle was a big van. It wasn't very comfortable but the windows allowed a breeze so it was okay. I made sure to dehydrate myself so I wouldn't have to pee, but even still we had to stop in Guatemala City because I needed to go. I did make it about 5 hours though! haha.

I'm now here in the hostel. Got myself a bed. Haven't met any of the other guests yet. Wanted to make sure I assured my family that I was safe. lol. The hostel seems nice though. It's called The Yellow House and it has FREE internet access, and FREE pancake breakfast too! I'm totally tired and think I may just read my book in the common room for a bit, perhaps chat with a few people and head to bed. Exciting life I know... snore. lol.

Hasta Manana!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



29th June 2007

Hi
Hope you have a great time. Enjoy and I can't wait to see you when you get home. I will be waiting to hear your adventure stories. Love you, Uncle Wally

Tot: 0.432s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 65; dbt: 0.2243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb