A few more pics


Advertisement
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here are a few extra pictures from Antigua that i didn't put up on the last one...and a few pictures from Rio Dulce and Livingston.

We left the lake and Antigua and headed straight across Guatemala to Rio Dulce on the Carribean coast. We stayed in this crazy place in Rio Dulce - only accessible by boat - built on top of the river with walkways connecting buildings and the restaurant, and the bathrooms. We stayed there one night, a few of our 'team' got a serious case of food poisoning and so we had to postpone our boat trip down the Rio Dulce for a few days. Instead we took a bus to Livingston, chilled out there for a few days while our troops recooperated. A few days later we made the trip down the river with our full forces (The awesome 4some). The boat trip was amazing. Really, really beautiful. We stopped at some hot springs, an indigenous village, and went through a field of lily pads. After the boat ride, i said my goodbyes to Alison (3 weeks together!) and Cara and Jade - they were staying in Guatemala, and I was headed to the Bay Islands of Honduras....I caught bus after bus and finally made it to the border...crossed safely and got on another bus....and then ended up in Omoa. A completely random town on the way from the border to La Ceiba (where you take the boat from to get to the islands) I just needed a place to sleep - as it was getting late in the day to keep on truckin - So i stopped over in Omoa. I ended up meeting these 3 cousins (from New York, with family down here in Honduras) and one of their dads. They were great guys, and couldn't believe I was staying in a place for 3 dollars a night. No air conditioning, no fan, no mosquito nets, nothing. I couldn't really believe it either. Anyway, they paid for my dinner, for drinks, and everything, saying that they were on a 2 week holiday - and not really on a budget. Sweet! We got along really well, played some pool and drank some beers. They went home to their nice air conditioned hotel, and I to my hot hot hot and buggy room. Yuck. They convinced me to stay in Omoa another day, as I had planned to just continue on the journey the next morning - but they were cool guys, so we hung out the next day.

After two days in Omoa (and two nights in that CRAP hostel) I packed up and hit the road. I made it to Puerto Cortez...and then to San Pedro Sula....and then to La Ceiba...where I missed the boat to Utila by 10 minutes!!! ARRRRGHHHH. Turned out to be the best bad luck I've had this trip....

Read the next blog to find out why!



ooohhhh...the suspensE!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



5th June 2007

suspense?
boo-urns to that.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb