Tazumal,SanAndes,Juayua,Ataco/El Salvador


Advertisement
Published: June 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Me, Daddy and VitorMe, Daddy and VitorMe, Daddy and Vitor

Ruins of San Andres
"When I went to San Salvador, it was so pretty. We went to the ruins and it was really big. At the first one, I chased my brother. It was hard to run in the grass.We went through a museum and it was pretty. The second ruins we climbed up steep steps. At the food place, I had some awesome steak, that was not really chewy but really good. And some good rice. We were at the painting place that had a little road, it was funny when I looked like I was on the road. It was really pretty." - Sofia

This trip was crazy. It was Wednesday before Memorial Day weekend and after daddy talked to his friend, Sean, on what to do, one thing led to another and daddy decided to get the cheapest tickets out of the country. So, before we knew it he bought tickets to El Salvador. While I was disappointed that Sean and my friend Luna would not be able to go, I was really happy that dad invited Vitor. It would be the first time I travelled with him since I was 1, and I definitely do not remember that.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


So without much planning, and after going to my friend birthday party, we left for a late night flight from Fort Lauderdale to San Salvador. Daddy had never been there either. Our flight was delayed 1 hour and we arrived in San Salvador after 100am. We were very tired. We almost had a problem at the passport place as Daddy is not Vitor's daddy, but he let us in since he was my brother. And just like that I entered my 48th country. A driver met us at the airport and took us to Hotel Tazumal House. It was a very nice little hotel and the people there were very friendly. We had a big room with 3 beds.

After a yummy breakfast in the hotel we met our driver for the day, Oliver. Daddy did a little studying before we came and had a plan. Instead of doing 2 different day trips, he asked if he could combine the 2 and just hit the highlights since they were so close. They agreed and we were off to some Mayan ruins.

The first Mayan ruins were at San Andres. I had fun chasing my brother and taking a lot of pictures. It was really green and pretty. The second ruins was Tazumal. I had fun climbing the steep steps. Both ruins were really cool.
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________



We next stopped off at Juayua. The had a huge food festival that they have every weekend. We ate some awesome food. I loved my steak as it was like I did not even have to chew it. Vitor ate rabbit. We tried a lot of different local food. We went on a little train around the town.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


The last town was Ataco. The streets were really neat and there were lots of colorful paintings on the wall. We went into one art store that had a lot of colorful cats with long necks. My daddy bought one for me. I also got a doll to add to my collection from around the world. We relaxed there in the back and had some drinks. Vitor decided that he wanted to try some iguana eggs. He kind of liked them but kind of didn't. He was confused a bit on how to eat them.

It was then back to our hotel and we went to a small pizza restaurant next to our hotel. We had a lot of fun goofing around in the room. Wow, we did so many things in less than 24 hours and had a lot planned for the next day....volcano and beach.


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Having Fun Chasing VitorHaving Fun Chasing Vitor
Having Fun Chasing Vitor

Ruinas de San Andres
Jump!Jump!
Jump!

Ruinas de San Andres
"it was delicious""it was delicious"
"it was delicious"

Juayua Food festival
"I'm up, he's down""I'm up, he's down"
"I'm up, he's down"

Mayan Ruins of San Andres
All SmilesAll Smiles
All Smiles

Mayan Ruins of San Andres
Vitor Holding MeVitor Holding Me
Vitor Holding Me

Mayan Ruins at San Andres
Diconte and Axul, AtacoDiconte and Axul, Ataco
Diconte and Axul, Ataco

This is where I bought my Purple Cat


3rd July 2012

Nice El Salvador Shots
We are going to El Salvador next week and noticed your fun blog and photos/videos... thanks!

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb