Republica Dominicana....


Advertisement
Published: September 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Decending out of the rain clouds getting closer and closer to the waves below, I'm looking around saying where the fuck is the runway, I can see the ripples of the waves we're so close to the ocean, nice beachfront homes...then all of sudden out of nowhere the runway is there and the wheels touch the ground ( a few times as we bounce when we hit).

I've arrived in the caribbean!! Time for sun and sand and....RAIN? ain't this a whore?! anyways I grab my luggage and head to get my passport stamped, you have to pay $10 for a tourist visa first then head over to get your stamp, the customs dude tries to bullshit a shitter asking for some dollars to stamp my passport, i give him $1.03 and tell him stamp my shit douche...STAMPED and a smile!

I head toward the exit to get a cab to My apartment in Munoz...an older guy says "Dame Dame" reaching for my bag so hey ok here guide me out...I reach outside and dude gives the bag back along with his hand out DAMN it lol, gave him $5.00 tried to be nice anyway.... I saw the exchange rate as usual wasn't good inside so I gambled on meeting with a trader outside...YESSS dude comes up in broken english and says " ju need pesos?" I tell him in spanish yea how much do you have? pulls out a wad like you wouldn't believe lol got it at 35 to 1 I'm good, now where is my ride????? never showed up so I thought, anyways smoked my black and took a taxi to the spot.

As we get closer to Munoz it's pretty apparent we're getting into Haitian town, the shanty towns all built up with tin roofs, you kick one side and they will all fall lol. So we reach Diana's place wayyyyyy out in the hills it's really stunning scenery! And the beach is a short 25 peso ride away! I meet Diana she shows me the room I'm renting and I put my shit down and head down to the little restaurant they have on site ( Papaguayo) next to a crystal clear tranquil river! I meet up with some people in the other apartments most are french canadian people but speak some english or spanish. I ask Noel ( the young guy who
Brahma!!Brahma!!Brahma!!

75 pesos!
cooks there) If I can get some sopa de pollo y arroz con frijoles? He cooks it up and it was good! Something about fresh veggies and meat with no preservatives that's just great! anyways until manana......


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb