Clarity - Chris Diak


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hola everybody! Chris Diak here, writing to you from Cabarete, Republica Dominicana, and my god what a trip this has been! During the past 10 days, I've jumped over 30 foot waterfalls, run through the hills of Rio San Juan, swam in the most beautiful water I've ever seen, eaten the best tacos in ALL OF LATIN AMERICA, become part of a new family, spoken more Spanish/Spanglish than I would have ever thought, and gained of sense of belonging in the world I didn't think I'd ever have.

The most powerful experience of this trip for me, was when I had to face my fear of all fears, jumping from heights. The 27 waterfalls. There had been a lot of rain lately, so we were only allowed to do 12, but it was the moment that I took that first step out, facing a 20 foot drop, that my fear fell away. I can't describe the moment in enough detail to make sense, to this post will probably be very nonsensical, but I just felt this profound moment of faith every time I jumped from those falls. I felt calm, collected, and free, in spite of being at the mouth of my personal lion's den.

However, the one moment I'll never forget from this trip, was when I chose to do an extra jump, off of a ladder, designed to get groups back up above the river, that was a good 30 feet high. It took noticeably longer to hit the water than the others, and in those few extra moments, I felt happier and more content than I probably ever have.

The rivers, the falls, and the forest were breathtakingly beautiful. I wish I could describe them for you all, but if I did, I wouldn't be doing them proper justice. I have experienced more of my self this trip than I ever expected. And also, more connected to the planet and its people than I ever thought possible.

I have been "searching for myself" (a self defeating activity if ever there was one) for many years now, but as I was pulled into my own body as I fell from those heights, I found exactly what I was looking for. I guess I had to go all the way around the world to be able to look myself in the mirror, but I have been filled with an overwhelming sense of clarity and most importantly peace.

To all those of you who helped make this trip possible, thank you so much. You changed my life forever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb