Peers V.S. Family


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone it's Devin. Long time no see. We have arrived in Cabarete with more bug bites than we can count. I had an awesome time in the village and at my homestay with Isaac. I'm familiar with the touristy stuff when I travel with my family. We do tend to go off the beaten path and sometimes we arrive in a city, that I don't know the name of, and my Dad will turn to us and say "Let's see what the people do for fun here." When I travel with family I feel comfortable and safe because I live with them and I know what makes them tick. But the past few days have been a completely different experience. This is the longest period of time I've traveled with such a small group to a different country, so I had no idea what to expect from them. So far, I have enjoyed my trip with my advisory. We've gotten really close in the past few days. I have done something that I never throught I'd do--a homestay, and it is completely different than what I'm used to when I travel with my family. I got to experience a different culture without having to rely on my parents to hold my hand and tell me to do this and that. It's a little sappy I know, but it's true.

Advertisement



11th May 2012

Hi
Good for you. Experiencing a culture as the native population does is the best way to travel.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb