Last morning in the batey


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I couldn't sleep last night. The power was out, there was no breeze, and in addition to smoke from burning the fields, it seemed that trash was being burned as well. I got up at dawn with allergic black eyes; by an hour or so later I was just swollen.

We drove to Juan Dolio, with a stop at a Parador for fried chicken. The hostel, Fior di Loto, is decorated in an Indian motif and the proprietor supports education for girls in India. My room was notable for its continuous electricity and a flush toilet--heaven!


I'll write my last entry soon, but want to reflect on the trip more (and look up some birds) before writing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



31st March 2014

Wow.
What a trip! And a great travelogue, too. Thanks for doing it. It sounds like a week of hard labor and misery, but interesting nonetheless. Glad you made it back to this luxurious land of flush toilets, running water, and plentiful electricity. We're very lucky.
1st April 2014

Today I've been appreciating how I can change the temperature in a building. What a weird idea.

Tot: 0.226s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.1135s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb