A day at leisure


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2014
Edit Blog Post

I took a morning walk around the edges of the cane fields, with binoculars and bird book. There were some pretty lizards with blue throats and red vents. I was pleased to see a couple of broad-billed todies, which are very attractive little birds, a green heron, and perhaps smooth-billed anis, as well as others. Men here and there with burros and cows. Nobody else. It was nice to have a short break.

Today the workers (but not our volunteer group) spread cement on the raised cinder block perimeter of the court.

A guided afternoon walk through the cane itself. Eating half a mango and spotting an Antillean mango, which is a bird.

Later, we dedicated the court with only a little speechifying, some cake, and a few games. There was a talent show, but I snuck out to shower. I'm an extrovert, but I do need my few minutes of reflective silence.

I packed for tomorrow and stacked up my donations plus some gifts (like playing cards) I'd brought. I gave Zach my extra jerky.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb