Gone!


Advertisement
Published: May 11th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Gone!Gone!Gone!

This thing's already heavy!

For some people, it's enough of an adventure to go on vacation to an exotic resort, leaving behind their familiar surroundings, their humidifiers and refrigerators stocked with food. For some that is plenty of risk, but for me, it has never been enough to visit a country and stay at the resort the entire time, barely venturing to the beach for fear of muggers.







So here I am going to Costa Rica, all by my little self. To the less tourist-filled area of the Caribbean side of the country. You should see people's faces when I tell them that I'm going, and then that I'm going by myself. "Oh why do you want to do that?" most ask while scrunching their face at me in confusion. My mom has only cried once since I told her...that's astounding for her and I've never been more proud of her bravado. Everyone thinks I'm crazy and I have even pondered my reasons and desires for this trip. All I know is that it all came together so easily, except for the part of others going. For individual reasons, people all backed out of going. I decided I wasn't

backing out. It's the right time for me to go, so I'm going.





I have nothing to prove except to myself. I have never done anything like this even though I have traveled to Brasil and Colombia now. But I always had someone to guide me, protect me. I am scared shitless of what could happen, but I am more fearful of who I will become if I don't go.




Don't be afraid your life will end; be afraid that it will never begin.

-Grace Hansen



Advertisement



12th May 2012

Vaya Con Dios!
Sooooo proud of you for taking this trip and hope that it will be an awesome adventure! You are truly an amazing young lady and I am so proud to be your Mom. May God watch over you and Bless you on this trip and always!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb