LOST in corcovado...


Advertisement
Published: April 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

... that's where I've been for the last month. Corcovado is a huge national park with a rainforest and plenty of wildlife. I helped out with a bit of everything. In the morning we cleaned the station a bit, and then I did different things every day. A few times I assisted the reaserchers, one studying monkeys and the other tapirs. It was very interesting and I learned a lot. Joined a group of costa rican volunteers who came in for a few days to clean up the beach and work on the trails around the station. Hard work but very rewarding. I met lots of people coming through, and had to learn more spanish. Took it very easy there, life was very tranquilo. Learned to play chess, really enjoyed that! I went for a hike almost every day and I've seen so many animals - four different monkey species, tapirs, anteaters, coatis, peccaries (wild stinky pigs), birds, snakes, scorpions, crocs, sharks... Lots of very weird looking animals over here! The best sight of them all was the PUMA!!! Unbelievable to stay face to face with that beautiful wild animal, the adrenaline pumped and my instinct was to run, I didn't even think of taking out my camera (which I would have liked to do). Then I thought I shouldn't run cause I don't want the puma to instinctly run after me so I had to slow down. Luckily I was very close to the station. Phew! What an experience...

Oh, and for those of you who have been watching LOST, corcovado is pretty much like it. That sound you hear coming closer and closer and then lots of black things running past, that’s the peccaries, not very cute guys. And they can be aggressive here too.

I'm going back to Sirena (the station in park) for a week and then I will work as a volunteer in Isla de Cano, a marine reserve where the snorkling is supposed to be amazing. No visitors are aloud to stay on the island, only workers, so I will hang out with about.. 5 people. Lots of hammacka time I suppose (that's relaxing in the hammock/hangmatta).

The internet connection is as slow as it can be so I can't attach any photos now. Will try to write more soon!

Love

Helena




Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

I could never do this...I could never do this...
I could never do this...

Mattias with a golden orbe spider


8th April 2006

tranquillo Costa Rica
Helena, vilken upplevelse.Nar jag laste kande pa mej att jag var tillsammans med dej pa plats.Verkligen Du skriver mycket innehallsrik och med farg.det var underbar att lasa lang historia pa sa kort tid o stund men jag hoppas att det kommer flera. Vad Du nu befinner Dej onskar DEJ LYCKA TILL och stadjer Dej med allt vad Du gor, din alskande sin dotter utan granser , pappsen.
8th April 2006

Hälsningar från regniga San Francisco!
Dina upplevelser låter superhäftiga! Bli inte uppäten nu bara.. Saknar dig! Kram
9th April 2006

Underbara Barbara!
Saknar Costa Rica livet! Njut tjejen... Njut! Stor kram
9th April 2006

Sounds like paradise (a bit wild, though)
So I guess you will keep enjoying your time in CR for a while... I was waiting your visit to Venezuela around this time. Where will you spend Pesach? I am off in 1 week to Bogota, Colombia. I was assigned to a project there for about 2 months and will be back to Caracas (maybe) by mid June. Well, actually I could come back every weekend if I would. I just haven't decided yet what I'll do. So keep in touch and let me know your plans 2 weeks ahead. Best, AA.
10th April 2006

Hakuna Matata - Hakuna Hammacka!
På något konstigt sätt brukar det alltid finnas ett samband mellan exotiska platser och trög internet anslutning. Det känns mer autentiskt för oss som läser om din regnskog, volontärarbete och snorklande att höra att du pumpar mer adrenalin än vad datorerna pumpar bits!! Allt låter helt fantastiskt. Här i Sverige har det blivit plusgrader med regn regn regn. Själv sticker jag på semester/konferens två veckor till Montreal om en vecka. Sen är det Valborg. Då ska vi ut ett gäng till Kärringön. Glad Pesach... Många kramar från ett kontorslandskap på hisingen /Yael
10th April 2006

Antligen ett livstecken
Tja syrran. Underbart att hora av dig och veta att du ar hel och mar bra! Later som att du verkligen ar med om mycket och spannande saker! Hos oss ar allt val och vi ar mitt uppe i Pesach stadningen. Just det, pa onsdag kvall ar det seder. Far passa pa att onska dig en bra Pesach, och att vi ses snart! Vi saknar dig alla har! Ha det sa gott och skot om dig! Puss, Camilla
18th April 2006

vilda djur
Hej gumman, du verkar verkligen ha det fantastiskt. Njut och lär. Själv skulle jag inte ha emot lite sol. (befinner mig i Tyskland hos Chris där det visserligen är varmare men även här molntäckt). Chag Sameach kram Kattis

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0579s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb